Design Review

Reply
New Member
radeoxx
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-04-2011
Message 1 of 3 (892 Views)

Autodesk Design review system requirements and x64 compability

892 Views, 2 Replies
03-04-2011 03:41 AM

Hello,

 

I'd like to start using Autodesk Design Review with my company, and we are going to purchase new computers to use the software but a few things are not clear for me.

 

- What are the recommended system requirements? I have read through the minimal system requirements and they are not very high. 

- How about x64 compability? Because we run the program currently on one x64 OS and it is not very stable. It somethimes hangs etc.

 

And 2 important questions:

- Would a core i7 processor be overkill? Which processor should we choose which is fast enough to run the program well?

- And how about an NVIDIA Quadro 2000 video card? (It is about $500 here, really expensive).  or would a Quadro 1800 be ok ($450) or perhaps another card which is cheaper...(about $250 would be much better).

 

The costs are important so if you could advice me here... (it is important that the videocard can output 1920x1080 on FOUR screens at the same time. 

Employee
Liust
Posts: 157
Registered: ‎07-24-2008
Message 2 of 3 (864 Views)

Re: Autodesk Design review system requirements and x64 compability

03-06-2011 06:19 PM in reply to: radeoxx

Thank you for your questions.

 

Please read the System Requirements section on the online document:

 

Autodesk Design Review 2011 Help

 

 

Autodesk Design Review is a 32bit version application, but it works fine in both 32bit and 64bit systems.

 

For the video card, do not have special requirement for Design Review.



-Sting
SQA Engineer
PSEB-GE-ACRD PSEB
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
ericspahn2878
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-21-2010
Message 3 of 3 (321 Views)

Re: Autodesk Design review system requirements and x64 compability

12-18-2013 02:57 PM in reply to: radeoxx

I have a 4 year old HP with the Quadro FX1800 card.  I run Revit, Autocad, and Design Review split across 2 identical 20" screens at 1600x900 without problems.  Some of our bigger models get a little slow, but they seem to run slow on all of our machines - my guess is that is related to other things, not the graphics.

 

Also, the machine is running Window 7 64 bit.  It was orginally ordered with Windows ME 64 bit, but was upgrade to Win 7 x64 when it became available.  All of that worked surprisingly well considering the flack MS caught for Win ME.

 

As for the processor, my thought is there is no such thing as overkill, but maybe others will have input on that.  I would think sticking with Intel's Haswell technology should give you more flexibility than Sandybridge for future upgrades whatever they maybe.

 

I'm an architectural engineer with about 4 years experience running this software day in and day out (I spent 10 years running just AutoCAD before that).

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community