DWG TrueView

Reply
New Member
HampshireCC
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-21-2010
Message 11 of 36 (15,847 Views)

Re: Where do I find NET 4.0 SP1 for TrueView 2013?

08-23-2012 06:49 AM in reply to: zingero84

Yes - that link fixed it - thank-you

New Member
juancarlos166
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-28-2012
Message 12 of 36 (15,290 Views)

Re: Where do I find NET 4.0 SP1 for TrueView 2013?

09-28-2012 07:17 AM in reply to: zingero84

 this will work!   just install the one you need,  x86(32bit)  or x64(64bit)  http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=3556

New Member
paulnx
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
Message 13 of 36 (14,690 Views)

Re: Where do I find NET 4.0 SP1 for TrueView 2013?

10-30-2012 09:36 AM in reply to: Silvia.Menon

Hello,

 

I have installed NDP40-KB2468871-v2-x86.exe and dotNetFx40_Client_x86_x64.exe from Microsoft and I still get the message that ".NET 4.0 is not installed"  Operating system is Vista Business with SP1 and fully patched.  What is wrong with TrueView 2013?

 

See log and captured window attached. 

 

Regards,

 

Paul

 

 

New Member
paulnx
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2012
Message 14 of 36 (14,682 Views)

Re: Where do I find NET 4.0 SP1 for TrueView 2013?

10-30-2012 10:33 AM in reply to: Silvia.Menon

After my previous reply, I tried installing .NET 4.0 using the online installer ("dotNetFx40_Full_setup.exe" 869KB) After running this installer, I tried the TrueView 2013 installation, and this time it finished the installation without errors.

 

Paul

Distinguished Contributor
madcowscarnival
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎04-12-2006
Message 15 of 36 (14,557 Views)

Re: Where do I find NET 4.0 SP1 for TrueView 2013?

11-05-2012 06:54 AM in reply to: paulnx

Though I realize this issue is closed, with a solution, I would like to post the solution that worked for me as well.  I too had fully functioning .NET 4.0 and TrueView errored out on installation.  I installed a trial version of the full ACad 2013 in order to do some last minute file conversion.  I noticed that where TrueView was hanging up, ACad modified the file and continued through.  Thus, after installation I decided to try True View again, and to my great surprise, it worked.  So AutoDesk has included in one software package (ACad) the ability to address .NET framework packages and omitted or excluded it from the other (TrueView).

 

My steps, whether quicker or slower.

 

1. Install the full (trial) version of AutoCad 2013

 

2. Install True View 2013 again.

 

3.  At some future point uninstall the AutoCad software.  It does not cause any problems on the machine running two versions of the same program.  Just don't select 2013 as the default program for opening .DWG files.

New Member
starkweatherbondy
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-04-2008
Message 16 of 36 (13,999 Views)

Re: Where do I find NET 4.0 SP1 for TrueView 2013?

11-28-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: zingero84

After following all of the advice here--trying the "full" install of NET 4.0 and installing ACAD 2013 trial, I noticed while installing the trial it installed KB2468871. After searching Microsoft's website and retrieiving that, I installed it on another machine with NET 4.0, no Autocad and installed TruView 2013 easily.

 

So, in short, if you get KB2468871 from Microsoft (and have NET 4.0 already installed), you should be able to install Tru View 2013 without a hitch.

 

Now if I could just get those 3 hours of my life back.

Member
toasteroven
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-20-2013
Message 17 of 36 (8,687 Views)

Re: Where do I find NET 4.0 SP1 for TrueView 2013?

06-20-2013 12:10 PM in reply to: HampshireCC

Wow...this is so frustrating. I have basically spent all morning trying to get this veiwer to install.

 

First download the Autocad Trueviewer, get it onto the machine that requires it (no Internet on that PC)

 

Run the installer: extracting files takes 10 min. Continue setup until I hit the .net requirement. Cancell the install.

 

Download the .net 4 package, get it onto the machine, run it and install, this take another 15-20 min.

 

Run trueview installer again, and again its has to Extract files to the same frigging folder it did the first time. another 10min.

 

get to the .net 4 requirement, see it now needs .Net SP1, try finding that, another 20 min. Download some obscure .net 4 package as noted here, NDP40-KB2468871-v2....

 

Run this .net4........still working on this

 

then I will run the autocad installer again, and guess what, it will want to extract the files yet again, another 10 mins wasted. Wow...this computing is getting past a joke.

 

Hard to undertsand how a simple viewer could be so darn impossible to install.

 

3hrs invested and it's still not installed.

 

Member
toasteroven
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-20-2013
Message 18 of 36 (8,681 Views)

Re: Where do I find NET 4.0 SP1 for TrueView 2013?

06-20-2013 01:31 PM in reply to: toasteroven

Sorry, I see I mentioned Trueveiwer 2013, but it's actually 2014 that I am trying to get installed.

 

Anyway, carried on with my Install as posted previously. Install the .net flavor NDP40-kb....  bla bla bla. to get .Net4 SP1 as required.

 

Start the Trueveiw install for the third time. This time it moves forward past the initial error when .net was not installed.

 

Installation path is listed, yup......"install".  Installing, overall progress 1 of 3, then 2 of 3, then 0 of three and an error message.

 

>.Net4 is not installed. TrueView 2014 cannot be insalled without this component. See your system administrator.

 

Holy......I wish I wasn't the sys admin, but I am. so now what. This is utterly friggin ridiculous.

 

This is my fourth try at getting this installed.

 

All I want to do is look at a dwg drawing. I do  not want to draw, edit, add, subtract or otherwise make any notations to it.

 

I'll post back when I have stopped shaking my head in disbelief.

 

So now 4 HOURS spent on something that should have taken 10 min. Who's paying my wage??

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
madcowscarnival
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎04-12-2006
Message 19 of 36 (8,674 Views)

Re: Where do I find NET 4.0 SP1 for TrueView 2013?

06-20-2013 02:44 PM in reply to: toasteroven

I feel your pain.  I too am system admin (out of the five of us).  I hate it when the program tells me to talk to myself; moreso when I haven't a clue what it wants.  That being said, here might be a few options.

 

1.  Try the install full acad trial I mentioned above.  My belief is that the installer package is much more powerful and capable of integrating necessary components into the computer.  Once said components are in, it make installation of the weaker package (TrueView) possible.  This worked well for me.  I don't know if lack o' interwebs will affect this.  The fun part is you'll spend another hour getting that colossal program installed.

 

2.  Internet search for a free viewer?  I don't always subscribe to this route but found a list of some pretty quick.

 

3.  Autocad WS Portable?  I have this on my phone for fun.  Its a pain getting drawings to the device, if they aren't floating in a cloud, but it does let you look through drawings.  Wait, I'm rambling.  The folks at sourceforge apparently have WS that can be installed on a desktop system, so they say and back it up with screen shots.  You get to use your login for these forums to access WS.

 

Good luck.

 

Member
toasteroven
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-20-2013
Message 20 of 36 (8,667 Views)

Re: Where do I find NET 4.0 SP1 for TrueView 2013?

06-20-2013 03:47 PM in reply to: HampshireCC

As yes......I have looked for other viewers. Let me say for others that Free DWG Viewer from Bravia, is NOT free.

 

eDrawings is, and works.

 

Autocad WS Portable looks like a good one too, which I will try.

 

I appreciate that.

 

I will NOT go the route of Autocad Full so it can install required library's etc. and have gone the way of FREE and PAINLESS.

 

There is by far, too much Pain in being an IT admin these days, as a lot of programs seem to get more complicated and convoluted as time goes by. 

 

No specific blame, but MS and Java are hard to ignore.

 

Going on holidays tomorrow, so this guy can get some well deserved R&R, far away from "WINDOWS" .NET4 SP1 nightmare's.

 

Tks

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community