Area :: Header
Interested in making Indie games?

Register for a Meet the Experts webinar with Digital-Tutors today!
Discussion Groups

Community Help

stevey2shoes

another projection problem

115 Views, 13 Replies
04-06-2012 08:50 AM
Hi
I'm still very new to this stuff.
I've modelled a head in 3ds MAX, struggled for days to UV map it,
Its importing into mudbox saying there are t shapes, and non manifold and an interior valance problems, none of which I completely understand, but thought may have been caused by the symmetry modifier in MAX, and I htought i solved once.
I only want to use mudbox to paint a texture map, nothing else.
Mudbox ISN'T complaining about UV tiles, but whenever I try to paint/project a stencil over the mesh, the stencil doesn't show up clearly, its as if I've used a dirty brush.
any ideas what's going on and or how to solve this please.
Steve

Please use plain text.
Distinguished Contributor
Brock_Lafond

Re: another projection problem

04-06-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: stevey2shoes
There definitely appears to be some symmetry issues, and probably some UV issues as well. On your Symmetry modifier check to make sure that your weld threshold isn't too high, but just high enough.

In Max throw a STL Check modifier on top of the stack. It will point out problems.

Can you upload the scene or obj of the model? If not, can you give us a screen-grab of the wireframe?
Max 4 -> ...
Win7 Pro 64
Dual Xeon Hexa-Core, 48GB RAM
GTX 780 x 2
Please use plain text.
stevey2shoes

04-06-2012 11:18 AM in reply to: stevey2shoes
Ive put STL check on, I didnt see any change (just checking what it does) heres a wire frame.
The colours seem to come out REALLY dark when I use mudbox aswell, any ideas why is it a gamma problem?
steve

Please use plain text.
stevey2shoes

04-06-2012 11:32 AM in reply to: stevey2shoes