Community Feedback

Reply
Valued Mentor
Jason.Piercey
Posts: 1,111
Registered: ‎04-04-2001
Message 1 of 6 (431 Views)

Static Navigation Pane?

431 Views, 5 Replies
06-10-2010 07:57 AM

The "Float board to top" is helpful but still far too many clicks to get back

and forth between groups you wish to participate in (not to mention the

time delay).  Is there some way to enable a "Static Navigation Pane"

where these "floated" boards could always be visible on the screeen?

 

You know, pretty much like a newsreader operates.

 

Employee
wrighte
Posts: 663
Registered: ‎09-22-2008
Message 2 of 6 (421 Views)

Re: Static Navigation Pane?

06-10-2010 04:07 PM in reply to: Jason.Piercey

I wonder if just using browser favorites could compliment the float to top. Specifically I use FF folders for my frequent boards.  Doesn't quite give you visibility into forum activity, but may make linking between favorite boards more efficient.

 



Eric Wright
Sr. Web Product Manager
Autodesk Knowledge Network
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Mentor
Jason.Piercey
Posts: 1,111
Registered: ‎04-04-2001
Message 3 of 6 (412 Views)

Re: Static Navigation Pane?

06-11-2010 06:31 AM in reply to: wrighte

I'll try that out and see how it works for me, sure can't be any worse

than the current click, wait, click wait, repeat.

Valued Contributor
amason43
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎06-09-2010
Message 4 of 6 (403 Views)

Re: Static Navigation Pane?

06-11-2010 09:04 AM in reply to: Jason.Piercey

I am using browser bookmarks, and just leaving Chrome open all day.  The nice thing about Chrome (maybe a feature in other browsers?) is that you can open all bookmarks in a folder at once.  The problem is that it doesn't work to do that on these discussion groups.  All the tabs open, but they don't all go to the correct group.  I'm pretty sure it has to do with the fact that it logs in separately for each tab.

Anthony Mason - CAD/BIM Manager
Nichols Melburg & Rossetto Architects + Engineers
Blog: Daily Occurrence
AutoCAD Architecture 2008 SP2 / Revit Architecture 2011
Microsoft Windows XP SP3 / Google Chrome
Distinguished Contributor
ACADuser
Posts: 1,192
Registered: ‎12-22-2003
Message 5 of 6 (402 Views)

Re: Static Navigation Pane?

06-11-2010 09:10 AM in reply to: Jason.Piercey

My workaround is to righ click the forum and select "open in new tab". I do this for each forum then just switch tabs within IE to change forums.  Maybe not the best method but works for me.

ACADuser
Dell Precision T5500 Workstation
Windows 7 Enterprise
Dual Quad Core Intel Xeon Processors E5540 2.53GHz,8M L3,5.8GT/s,turbo
12GB RAM
1.5GB NVIDIA Quadro FX 4800
DUAL 27" Dell UltraSharp U2713HM
Distinguished Contributor
DaveDrahn
Posts: 164
Registered: ‎01-13-2003
Message 6 of 6 (389 Views)

Re: Static Navigation Pane?

06-11-2010 02:10 PM in reply to: ACADuser

That's what I'm trying too, saving my tab group as "AutoCAD Discussion" which includes 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, Cad Manglers, etc.  Then in IE8 you can open an entire group.  Still slower and clunkier than heck and navigation within threads is counterproductive at best.

 

Seems like a static nav pane would be very helpful, I've seen that before.  I wish desk woould get some test user input into syuff like this before forcing a switch... oh, forgot, that what they do with each software release too.

 

Hopefully our beta efforts on this site will also not go wasted.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community