Community Feedback

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,814
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 21 of 52 (1,395 Views)

Re: Social network buttons

11-07-2012 04:48 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I have seen the buttons in other sites in this way; visible, but not so distracting:

 

11-7-2012 7-45-11 AM.jpg

 

...and at the bottom of the page, or article, ONCE, not after every post. Part of the current annoyance here is that the current set of buttons gets repeated many times in the same page, little blue and red squares, repeated post after post...

 

If it has to go in every post, why not just abbreviate it to the "+" symbol, only?

 

11-7-2012 7-55-31 AM.jpg

 

If one hovers the mouse over the symbol, then the panel of social media buttons would display, only when we really want to use it.

 

Just saying...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,129
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 22 of 52 (1,376 Views)

Re: Social network buttons

11-07-2012 05:39 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

I must be doing something right for once, I'm not seeing these icons/buttons/links everybody else is, only the Bookmark link.

 

Lastest Firefox with ghostery plugin as well as I use a hosts file to redirect to 127.0.0.1 to block some of the spam/ads.

 

forums.PNG

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 23 of 52 (1,361 Views)

Re: Social network buttons

11-07-2012 06:27 AM in reply to: ampster

Well; ain't that a fun find!

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
Alfredo_Medina
Posts: 2,814
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Message 24 of 52 (1,356 Views)

Re: Social network buttons

11-07-2012 07:15 AM in reply to: Charles_Shade

I am using Firefox 13.0. I see the full set of buttons all the time. If the idea is that only the bookmark button stays still, it's not working here. :smileysad:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Planta1 Revit Online Consulting | info@planta1.com | my Twitter | The Planta1 Blog
*Pro
ampster
Posts: 1,129
Registered: ‎07-26-2005
Message 25 of 52 (1,348 Views)

Re: Social network buttons

11-07-2012 07:36 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

13 is kind of old, FF is up to 16.0.2

 

To tell the truth, I have no idea what is blocking or preventing those social network buttons from showing!

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 26 of 52 (1,345 Views)

Re: Social network buttons

11-07-2012 10:23 AM in reply to: Alfredo_Medina

There were two tab options with the Ghostery when setting it up: 3pes and Cookies.

I blocked Widgets under both those tabs.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
cbenner
Posts: 3,177
Registered: ‎04-06-2010
Message 27 of 52 (1,342 Views)

Re: Social network buttons

11-07-2012 11:04 AM in reply to: KerryBrown

Wow... frankly I'm not seeing the big fuss.  They're there,... I don't use them.  Others might, but I honestly doubt they'll get that much use in the long haul.

 

But I don't find them messy or clunky or crowding or certainly personally offensive.  i just don't pay them that much attention.

 

But this is just MHO, and being married as long as I have,... I know what THAT'S worth.  :smileyvery-happy:  j/k

ChrisB

ADSK_Expert_Elite_Icon_S_Color_Blk.png

Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution &Give Kudos!Kudos to further enhance the value of these forums. Thank you! :smileyhappy:

http://cbennertipstricks.blogspot.com/


   

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,848
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 28 of 52 (1,358 Views)

Re: Social network buttons

11-07-2012 01:13 PM in reply to: cbenner

I just tried the Tweet button on a topic: nice :smileyhappy:

Now I get to combine two addictions together: hope the ball-and-chain is not reading this (old-school humor).

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,106
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 29 of 52 (1,334 Views)

Re: Social network buttons

11-08-2012 03:48 PM in reply to: cbenner

I don't mind them so much.  I can see them needed in each post, as it provides a link to *that* specific post rather than the thread.  But maybe having it link to the thread would be better overall.

 

The one part I don't like is the bookmarks part randomly opens and *stays* open.  I'd prefer it be a click-to-open operation so that data block is only there when specifically requested.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,848
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 30 of 52 (1,260 Views)

Re: Social network buttons

11-10-2012 06:44 PM in reply to: pendean

I made the new buttons work with my signature, so I'm good with their location now :smileyhappy:

Kind of funny how only the bookmark button appears in Chrome and they all appear in IE though.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community