Community Feedback

Reply
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 1 of 9 (1,086 Views)
Accepted Solution

Posted images in profile

1086 Views, 8 Replies
05-06-2012 06:05 PM

When I post an image to help answer a question,

that image also shows up on my profile. How can

I keep them off of my profile page and still have

them in the forum?

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,169
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 2 of 9 (1,076 Views)

Re: Posted images in profile

05-07-2012 05:05 AM in reply to: vector2

You can't remove them, but you make them

invisible to others by marking them as Private:

 

Profile Page » view images for... » Image Options ▼ Check All,

and then to Image Options ▼ Make All Checked Images Private.

 

When you're  inserting a new image in a post,

there is a checkbox option for "Hide (Private)".

 

All in all, it's a good thing because if you ever

have to post an image again, you can pull it

from the archive. I've done that a few times.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 3 of 9 (1,063 Views)

Re: Posted images in profile

05-07-2012 07:43 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Thanks CADastrophe.

 

Okay I "can't".

 

Yeah I knew about the private.

 

Can't organize my images the way I'd like. That's interesting.

But probably not worth anyone reprogramming the software

over though.

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,169
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 4 of 9 (1,058 Views)

Re: Posted images in profile

05-07-2012 07:50 AM in reply to: vector2

Just out of curiosity, what exactly would you like to do to organize

them? I don't imagine that many users are browsing through those

archives. I've only gone to those to view the full-size version of an

image that was illegibly compressed within a post.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 5 of 9 (1,046 Views)

Re: Posted images in profile

05-07-2012 01:59 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

The issue:

"have to post an image again, you can pull it

from the archive."

 

The means:

"what exactly would you like to do to organize

them?"

 

The method:

Searchable image title archive.

 

The reason:

1800 posts, 300 images posted.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,169
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 6 of 9 (1,030 Views)

Re: Posted images in profile

05-08-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: vector2

You've got a good point there - Right now,

I have 70 or so to dig through. It would be a

nice convenience to be able to list all of the

images by name instead of digging through

the thumbnail images, especially since the

Insert Image dialog only shows 4 of them at

a time. I would recognize any of my images

by their titles and/or file names.

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
*Expert Elite*
CADastrophe
Posts: 3,169
Registered: ‎08-28-2009
Message 7 of 9 (1,014 Views)

Re: Posted images in profile

05-08-2012 12:07 PM in reply to: CADastrophe

As a tip: If you have a couple of images that

you reference and repost frequently or even

occasionally, you can set that image as one

of your Macros. And here is how you do it:

 

Start a New Message somewhere, anywhere.

Insert the desired image into this blank post.

Click on the "HTML" tab and select the HTML

code. Go to My Settings » Macros tab and

paste the code into one of the macro spaces.

Now you can easily insert that image using

the Macros pull-down no matter how buried

it gets in your archive. Hope this helps...

Corey D.                                                                                                                  ADSK_Logo_EE_2013.png    AutoCAD 2014 User  Revit 2014 User
──────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
⁞|⁞ Please use Mark Solutions!.Accept as Solution and Give Kudos!Give Kudos as appropriate to further enhance these forums. Thank you!
Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 8 of 9 (997 Views)

Re: Posted images in profile

05-09-2012 11:51 AM in reply to: CADastrophe

Very nice CADastrophe, thanks for the tip.

Valued Mentor
vector2
Posts: 2,058
Registered: ‎03-28-2009
Message 9 of 9 (966 Views)

Re: Posted images in profile

05-15-2012 04:52 PM in reply to: vector2

Apparently someone at Autodesk seen my concern about

my profile page getting the same images I post in the forum that

I didn't want to go to my profile, and they fixed it for me. Now when

I post an image in the forum, those images don't show up on my

profile page. Now I can have only the images I want on my profile.

 

Thank you whoever did that for me.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community