CAD Managers

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
rculp
Posts: 1,235
Registered: ‎03-22-2006
Message 21 of 152 (136 Views)

Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?

06-09-2006 02:22 PM in reply to: JorgeLedezma
"" I use and will continue to use DWGgateway without so much as ONE problem. And I have converted literally 100's of files. ""

As long as you're translating from one AutoCAD version to another there shouldn't be much trouble, but going from MSTA to AutoCAD is not as seamless as the Bentley boys would have you think. We had a vendor taken off our suppliers list because he was continually sending in crud translated from MS to AutoCAD that were nothing BUT trouble.
Distinguished Contributor
madcadd
Posts: 2,768
Registered: ‎01-05-2004
Message 22 of 152 (136 Views)

Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?

06-09-2006 02:28 PM in reply to: JorgeLedezma
>>Then just name them, or better yet name just one "" FREEBEE* program[] that work as well and *BETTER* than AutoCAD. ""

***********
Reply From: Don Reichle
Date: Jun/09/06 - 15:46 (CDT)
Reply
Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?
Well I was just talking about this with other staff in the office a few
minutes ago, and our common experience was to use IntelliCAD to clean up DWG
files that had become corrupted beyond Audit/Restore process while having
been retained inside AutoCAD previously.

So that fairly well flies in the face of the post we were lead to from that
link, hmmmm?

.........
..........
............
*Michael Kolster
Message 23 of 152 (136 Views)

Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?

06-09-2006 02:36 PM in reply to: JorgeLedezma
I find the same thing here. We run both ACAD and MS and I use MS to open
and fix files that ACAD Audit/Restore can't fix. The file was in only used
in ACAD until then so what is so trusty about that?

Speaking of MS, if you really know how to use and configure MicroStation you
really don't have any problems. The only time I see issues with it is when
users who think they know what they are doing and say they understand MS and
then have issues with it. I set it up and use it and it works fine so is it
the software or user error?

"Don Reichle" wrote in message
news:5201893@discussion.autodesk.com...
Well I was just talking about this with other staff in the office a few
minutes ago, and our common experience was to use IntelliCAD to clean up DWG
files that had become corrupted beyond Audit/Restore process while having
been retained inside AutoCAD previously.

So that fairly well flies in the face of the post we were lead to from that
link, hmmmm?

The procedure I referred to above was c-o-n-s-i-d-e-r-a-b-l-y faster than
having to start all over from an empty dwg file, I'm sure even the Deskers
would agree.

And that would need to include the "checking" involved to make sure that all
the necessary changes had been addressed.

Which made me think of any Agency changes required - based upon the
timeframe of this unfortunate happenstance of corruption.

--
Don Reichle
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
----------------------------------------------------------
LDT/CD-2K4
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual 2.01GHz
XPPro 32bit SP2
2GB RAM
Dual WD800JD Hard Drives - 149GB Nvidia Stripe
Nvidia Quadro FX 1300 128MB
Dual ViewSonic 19-inch VA902b monitors


wrote in message news:5201036@discussion.autodesk.com...
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=6740482
*Matt Stachoni
Message 24 of 152 (136 Views)

Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?

06-09-2006 03:18 PM in reply to: JorgeLedezma
On Fri, 9 Jun 2006 17:04:08 +0000, Randy Culp <> wrote:

>"" Unfortunately, we can't get a utility that tells us which files were crappily drawn ""
>
>Knowing it was done in MSTA is a good start.

Meh - people do good CAD work using MSTA, AutoCAD, and
Barbie's Home Deck Builder. I've gotten MTSA-originated
files that were, for the most part, just fine. The only
weirdness I had was dealing with layers with intuitive names
like, say "17."

But, for most of us in the real world, the software used to
create the DWG file doesn't matter until _after_ the
contracts have been written and signed and design is well
under way.

By then, it's simply too late.

Matt
mstachoni@comcast.net
mstachoni@bhhtait.com
*Don Reichle
Message 25 of 152 (136 Views)

Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?

06-09-2006 04:40 PM in reply to: JorgeLedezma
It may be likely that my friend Allen had issues with DGN files that were
converted to DWGs, after they had already been "graced" with issues from MS?

Not ever having utilized MS, I of course may be all wet with my guess re.
the "causes" of his troubles with the DWG files he mentioned.

--
Don Reichle
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
----------------------------------------------------------
LDT/CD-2K4
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual 2.01GHz
XPPro 32bit SP2
2GB RAM
Dual WD800JD Hard Drives - 149GB Nvidia Stripe
Nvidia Quadro FX 1300 128MB
Dual ViewSonic 19-inch VA902b monitors


"Michael Kolster" wrote in message
news:5201953@discussion.autodesk.com...
I find the same thing here. We run both ACAD and MS and I use MS to open
and fix files that ACAD Audit/Restore can't fix. The file was in only used
in ACAD until then so what is so trusty about that?

Speaking of MS, if you really know how to use and configure MicroStation you
really don't have any problems. The only time I see issues with it is when
users who think they know what they are doing and say they understand MS and
then have issues with it. I set it up and use it and it works fine so is it
the software or user error?

"Don Reichle" wrote in message
news:5201893@discussion.autodesk.com...
Well I was just talking about this with other staff in the office a few
minutes ago, and our common experience was to use IntelliCAD to clean up DWG
files that had become corrupted beyond Audit/Restore process while having
been retained inside AutoCAD previously.

So that fairly well flies in the face of the post we were lead to from that
link, hmmmm?

The procedure I referred to above was c-o-n-s-i-d-e-r-a-b-l-y faster than
having to start all over from an empty dwg file, I'm sure even the Deskers
would agree.

And that would need to include the "checking" involved to make sure that all
the necessary changes had been addressed.

Which made me think of any Agency changes required - based upon the
timeframe of this unfortunate happenstance of corruption.

--
Don Reichle
"The only thing worse
than training your staff,
and having them leave is -
not training your staff,
and having them stay."
Courtesy Graphics Solution Providers
----------------------------------------------------------
LDT/CD-2K4
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual 2.01GHz
XPPro 32bit SP2
2GB RAM
Dual WD800JD Hard Drives - 149GB Nvidia Stripe
Nvidia Quadro FX 1300 128MB
Dual ViewSonic 19-inch VA902b monitors


wrote in message news:5201036@discussion.autodesk.com...
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/item?siteID=123112&id=6740482
Distinguished Contributor
rculp
Posts: 1,235
Registered: ‎03-22-2006
Message 26 of 152 (136 Views)

Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?

06-09-2006 04:44 PM in reply to: JorgeLedezma
"" I'm in violation of nothing, I just work here. ""

Then, if all those versions are not separate licenses, your employer is in violation of the EULA. If they'll steal from AutoDESK what makes you sure they won't steal from you?
Distinguished Contributor
rculp
Posts: 1,235
Registered: ‎03-22-2006
Message 27 of 152 (136 Views)

Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?

06-09-2006 04:50 PM in reply to: JorgeLedezma
"" I've gotten MTSA-originated files that were, for the most part, just fine. ""

Depends on the file, the user, the version of MSTA, the "Enhanced Precision" settings, the MU-SU-PU setting, and how the originator translated the file into AutoCAD. I've seen perfectly fine looking MSTA drawings turned into mush trying to save them as AutoCAD. Some so bad even MSTA wouldn't open them anymore.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"" But, for most of us in the real world, the software used to
create the DWG file doesn't matter until _after_ the contracts have been written and signed and design is well under way. ""

We contract deliverable formats, so we know what we're getting from the top.
Distinguished Contributor
rculp
Posts: 1,235
Registered: ‎03-22-2006
Message 28 of 152 (136 Views)

Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?

06-09-2006 04:56 PM in reply to: JorgeLedezma
"" to clean up DWG files that had become corrupted beyond Audit/Restore process while having been retained inside AutoCAD previously. ""

Since R13, this office (150-300 users) has had maybe 10 files that would not recover.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"" our common experience was to use IntelliCAD to clean up DWG files ""

Intellicad chokes large on the 3D files we generate on a regular basis.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How often do you guys get corrupt drawings?? Have you attempted to determine the cause?? or just assumed it was the program??
Distinguished Contributor
JorgeLedezma
Posts: 690
Registered: ‎06-12-2004
Message 29 of 152 (136 Views)

Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?

06-09-2006 05:08 PM in reply to: JorgeLedezma
Why we haven't a Trusted DOC, XLS...?

If a software detect any corrupted file there are 2 ways: repair and open the file or no open the file at all.

Don't you think that with 2K7 we are in the middle of a big break: dwg and Trusted DWG? To leave the competition behind and make us more ADSK dependable users?

Trusted DWG is a dwg more armored than ever, a bullet proof dwg format.

I am wondering how this trusted platform will help to the multiuser environment or to databases driven applications.

Will see Trusted DWG centric applications?
Distinguished Contributor
rculp
Posts: 1,235
Registered: ‎03-22-2006
Message 30 of 152 (136 Views)

Re: What do you think about Trusted DWG?

06-09-2006 05:14 PM in reply to: JorgeLedezma
"" fix files that ACAD Audit/Restore can't fix. The file was in only used in ACAD until then so what is so trusty about that? ""

Does this happen to you often? What 3rd party apps do you have loaded??

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"" Speaking of MS, if you really know how to use and configure MicroStation you really don't have any problems. ""

There again, that depends on the version of MS and certain settings in effect while producing the file in MSTA and the settings used for the translation.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

"" is it the software or user error? ""

Oh, without a doubt, it's pilot error. But the fault lies with the Bentley propaganda that claims seamless transition between the two programs. It is only seamless (not really then either) if you do due diligence in setting up the translation. Unfortunately, many users don't, they heard it was easy, so they just save as autocad and send me the fie. They usually get it back that afternoon.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube