CAD Managers

Reply
New Member
391-38576818
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-24-2013
Message 1 of 3 (405 Views)

Upgrading from 2011 to 2013 AutoCAD Profiles and Workspaces

405 Views, 2 Replies
04-24-2013 10:35 AM

I can't seem to find the answer I'm looking for in any forums, so I'm coming to the source!  If my firm is going to make the upgrade from 2011 to 2013 AutoCAD do my designers need to save or backup their .CUIX file so that they will be able to continue to access all their custom settings?  I know this is a procedure for when you swap out computers, but I'm not sure if there are steps that need to take place before an upgrade.  I just need to make sure everyone will have all their settings so there won't be any downtime after the upgrade.

Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 406
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 2 of 3 (394 Views)

Re: Upgrading from 2011 to 2013 AutoCAD Profiles and Workspaces

04-24-2013 11:49 AM in reply to: 391-38576818

The quick version is.......

 

Make sure everyone creates a custom workspace

type in cui

Choose the transfer tab at the top.

On the left hand side, main custimization side, select the save icon at the top

 

Note:

I have created a workspace folder on the server that everyone can save theirs to and have access at anyones computer.


At tjis point you just saved out all workspaces.

 

now in the new version of cad open cui

in the tranfer tab on the right side open the file you just saved.

All of the workspaces are visable

drag and drop your custom workspace to the custom side.

your done

 

Let me know if you need more details.

 

thanks,

dave

 

 

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 3 of 3 (389 Views)

Re: Upgrading from 2011 to 2013 AutoCAD Profiles and Workspaces

04-24-2013 12:09 PM in reply to: 391-38576818

Never uninstall the previous Version until the current Version is up and running as you want.

 

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube