CAD Managers

Reply
Contributor
darrenbarton
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-22-2009
Message 1 of 4 (341 Views)

Upgrading LT 5 User Licence to 5 Individual Licences?

341 Views, 3 Replies
02-03-2011 07:00 AM

A while back we upgraded some of our single user LT licences to a 5~user licence. The time has come to upgrade again and its now cheaper to upgrade 5 single licences than it is a 5~user licence.

 

One seller has told us its ok to upgrade a 5 seat licence back to 5 individual licences and another has said its not allowed.

 

can someone help clarify if this is possible?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,852
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 4 (327 Views)

Re: Upgrading LT 5 User Licence to 5 Individual Licences?

02-03-2011 10:43 AM in reply to: darrenbarton

Are you going through an Authorized local Autodesk reseller (not a website)? AFAIK the conversion is possible but requires direct communications with Autodesk, something retail websites and stores cannot do.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
darrenbarton
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎05-22-2009
Message 3 of 4 (317 Views)

Re: Upgrading LT 5 User Licence to 5 Individual Licences?

02-03-2011 01:53 PM in reply to: pendean

We generally buy our LT upgrades from online. I know at least one of the resellers we received a quote from was an Authorised Autodesk reseller because they were listed when I searched for a reseller here on the Autodesk website. But when we spoke to them they didnt think it was possible to switch.

 

Do you know the best way to contact Autodesk direct? When I select my region (UK) I lose the option to buy online from Autodesk and the only phone number I have found is their head office main number for the UK. I will start there in the morning when they re-open if you dont have a better suggestion.

 

Thanks 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,852
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 4 (286 Views)

Re: Upgrading LT 5 User Licence to 5 Individual Licences?

02-04-2011 02:56 PM in reply to: darrenbarton

You need to talk to a land-based Autodesk (aka full AutoCAD/Revit/Inventor etc) reseller: your request goes beyond online retail shops IMHO. Retail shops don't get that involved in licensing, their margins are too low (hence the better price).

 

Customer Service costs someone (usually the buyer) money, you get what you pay for when you get in a jam and need real help: don't give your money to someone that in a licensing jam will only ask you to contact Autodesk for a resolution.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube