Autodesk Technology Managers Forum
Share your knowledge, ask questions, and engage with fellow CAD/BIM Managers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TOP 3 CAD SYSTEMS AVAILABLE

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
1332 Views, 8 Replies

TOP 3 CAD SYSTEMS AVAILABLE

Hello to everyone

I am a CAD student. I am doing research into different CAD systems available.

Could you please tell me what is the top 3 CAD systems available in the market today?

I would like to ask out of these three CAD systems which is best & why?

Please could you give me a brief actual reason to why it is better than the other two, instead of just an opinionated reason, if that's not too much to ask of anyone who reads this.

Thank you very much

for taking the time out and

responding to this discussion topic.

Kindest regards

A CAD Student.

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
skintsubby
in reply to: 20112679

You may need to be a bit more specific as it all depends on what you want to do.

Schematics may only need AutoCAD LT

Some mechanical work may require Solidworks / Inventor

Shipbuilding may use Tribon / Fortran

Process may use PDMS  / AutoCAD / Inventor  / Solidworks ...etc

The list is endless.

And as most of the users on here are using AutoCAD then chances are the majority may have that in the top three as that's what they use.

That said. There's a wealth of knowledge on these board... if you ask the correct question.

Message 3 of 9
in reply to: skintsubby

Hello

I would like to post this question for discussion.

What are the main advantages and disadvantages

Inventor 2012 has over any other CAD packages out there?

Why is Inventor better than say Solidworks 2012 and say the

latest version of Mechanical Desktop.

Why should anyone wishing to invest in a 3D modelling system

pick Inventor.

I am doing research into this matter. I could do with some factual help.