Autodesk Technology Managers Forum
Share your knowledge, ask questions, and engage with fellow CAD/BIM Managers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Inventor Managers, what's your take on this?

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
CelticDesignServices
521 Views, 3 Replies

Inventor Managers, what's your take on this?

I've been a CAD Admin/Manager now for about 10 yrs now and I've seen a few people who, for whatever reason tend to think Inventor's Content Center is only for Fasteners.

Now, at a few places I've been, they had used custom fasteners due to stress or material, etc requirements and at each of these places, the direct employee (one place I was a contractor, the other place I was leaving to start my current consulting venture and was training my replacement) wanted to or had already deleted the entire Content Center library. Both stated "there's no need to keep it if we are using our own fasteners". As you all most likely know, there's a ton of useful items in CC and by deleting the entire library I feel they've greatly handicapped their users.

I have this very issue here at my current client, since they don't use basic fasteners, they went in and deleted the entire CC library, thus all the advantages of being able to use ALL the other items besides fasteners are gone. Their reasoning for this is they don't want their users using any library files that haven't gone thru their in-house verification process. Now don't get me wrong, to a point I can understand this on parts that are of critical importance such as fasteners, but what about things such as the basic shapes or as I call them, "primatives" or shaft parts, etc. I meant there's some what, 800,000 parts in CC if you load all the files.