CAD Managers

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
scottgensemer8984
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎07-10-2009
Message 1 of 5 (975 Views)

Identifying Firewall Ports used by AutoCAD

975 Views, 4 Replies
02-24-2012 11:38 AM

We are changing our network around and I have a request from our Network people to identify any potential firewall ports that are required for communications with our engineering applications (like AutoCAD) between the client and servers.

 

We use primarily AutoCAD Electrical and Mechanical. The shared data, projectsfiles/folders, blocks, etc. are on remote file servers. The drawings are open and edited on the servers, not locally. We have multiple users working on a project, so that's why we don't work locally.

 

Any ideas on how to capture that info?

 

Or does anybody already know what ports are required? Or if it matters?

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
JGerth
Posts: 1,924
Registered: ‎12-05-2005
Message 2 of 5 (968 Views)

Re: Identifying Firewall Ports used by AutoCAD

02-24-2012 01:41 PM in reply to: scottgensemer8984

you could try Process monitor from microsoft, and filter the returns by acad.exe

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 5 (952 Views)

Re: Identifying Firewall Ports used by AutoCAD

02-27-2012 07:54 AM in reply to: scottgensemer8984

The license manager will use ports 2080 and 27000-27009.

Any online help, ADMS, Vault, or other file serving ports will use ports 21, 80, 443, and 8080.

If you're using Citrix, you need to have ports 7279 and 1494.

 

You can also set an exception for acad.exe and that should take care of anything else. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Distinguished Contributor
scottgensemer8984
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎07-10-2009
Message 4 of 5 (946 Views)

Re: Identifying Firewall Ports used by AutoCAD

02-27-2012 08:19 AM in reply to: TravisNave

We do not use Vault here, but from your response AutoCAD Electrical would then be using ports 21, 80, 443, 8080 for it's schematic icon menu, project file changes, etc. when you are working on a project stored on a remote network server?

 

I did end up finding the license manager port info in the Network License Guide. Are the other ports you mention documented anywhere?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 5 (932 Views)

Re: Identifying Firewall Ports used by AutoCAD

02-27-2012 12:26 PM in reply to: scottgensemer8984

Yes, I got them from the Autodesk support site.  Online help would use port 80, obviously.  Port 443 is generally SSL but used for stand-alone activation.  Port 21 is FTP and 8080 is an alternate for port 80 commonly.  Generally speaking, your ports 80, 443 and possibly 21 will already be open or your Internet won't work. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube