Autodesk Technology Managers Forum
Share your knowledge, ask questions, and engage with fellow CAD/BIM Managers.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 14
MariannGrundvall
796 Views, 13 Replies

Compability with Mac

Hi there,

I am an architect student who wants to buy a MacBook Pro retina i7 2.3. I want to be able to use Autocad and revit flawlessly. Do I need to install windows on the Mac and use Boot camp to make this possible? Will that run as good as on a PC? This Mac will have a large RAM and hard drive space but could running two operating systems slow the computer down severly? What could the disadvantages be? Slower rendering?

Thankful for response! 

13 REPLIES 13
Message 2 of 14
pendean
in reply to: MariannGrundvall

If you want AutoCAD for Windows then buy a Wundows PC.
If you want to use a MAC? Get AutoCAD for MAC.
Mixing and matching is silly IMHO.
Message 3 of 14
MariannGrundvall
in reply to: pendean

Well I thought that I read some place that the mac version of autocad aren't as funcional? And revit istn't even made for mac yet, am I right?

Message 4 of 14
pendean

There are several thousands of MAC users that would disagree, but ultimately that's your choice. As an Architect myself most of us use AutoCAD for Architecture (not plain AutoCAD) and REVIT, if you want a job after you graduate you might consider learning on the proper software now. Plain AutoCAD has little room left in our business unless you want to work for a home builder and draw "dumb" lines all day long with no grasp on how things are put together.

IMHO, if you want my opinion of course, if you need to use Windows software then you ought to buy a Windows-specific PC/laptop. And get an iPad: mobile CAD is coming and should be closer to reality once you graduate and get into the workforce. Then you can ditch both WIndows and MacOS and be truly mobile.
Message 5 of 14
MariannGrundvall