CAD Managers

Reply
Active Member
davidlewis5275
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
Message 1 of 10 (708 Views)

Change Licpath.lic via vbscript

708 Views, 9 Replies
02-28-2012 09:14 AM

I have about a dozen autodesk products where I need to change the Licpath.lic.

According to Autodesk ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE will not work with a redundant server setup so I need to replace the licpath.lic on every product.

 

Does anyone have a vbs script that they could share that copies over a new Licpath.lic file?

 

I would be using this as a machine script at bootup, not a login script.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,994
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 10 (703 Views)

Re: Change Licpath.lic via vbscript

02-28-2012 10:20 AM in reply to: davidlewis5275

I recommend never using the redundant model because it does not work as intended and the only redundancy is the amount of work required to implement and keep it running.  Now that I am off my soap box, you can find a suitable solution here:

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/problem-changing-licencing-servers/td-p/2668660

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
davidlewis5275
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
Message 3 of 10 (697 Views)

Re: Change Licpath.lic via vbscript

02-28-2012 10:42 AM in reply to: TravisNave
With a mixture of windows 7 and xp I want to avoid the registry. Things are setup with licpath now and I just need code to replace those files
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,994
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 10 (695 Views)

Re: Change Licpath.lic via vbscript

02-28-2012 10:51 AM in reply to: davidlewis5275

Since the file structure will be the same, you could just run a simple DOS batch file to do a copy overwrite from a shared location with the modified LICPATH.LIC to the Autodesk application root folder. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
davidlewis5275
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
Message 5 of 10 (693 Views)

Re: Change Licpath.lic via vbscript

02-28-2012 10:54 AM in reply to: TravisNave
If dos would work I would not be posting Windows 7 with the UAC will not allow writing to the c:\program files locations
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,994
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 10 (691 Views)

Re: Change Licpath.lic via vbscript

02-28-2012 10:57 AM in reply to: davidlewis5275

You need to disable UAC.  It serves no purpose but to make your life miserable.  Definitely doesn't need to be enabled in an enterprise setting.  You have group policies for that.  I never understood why people insist on handicapping themselves and then try to explain ways around the very obstacles they set for themselves.  If you're looking for a method to circumvent UAC, then UAC really isn't serving its purpose.  If you can circumvent it, anyone can.  Just turn it off. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
davidlewis5275
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
Message 7 of 10 (688 Views)

Re: Change Licpath.lic via vbscript

02-28-2012 11:08 AM in reply to: TravisNave
We are arguing about a non point here I just need vbs code I figured other cad managers had the code already I will ask in a Microsoft group instead Btw the it department sets UAC, not the cad managers
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,994
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 10 (686 Views)

Re: Change Licpath.lic via vbscript

02-28-2012 11:15 AM in reply to: davidlewis5275

I wish you luck.  I can attest that as part of IT, I would never set UAC on my users.  Perhaps your IT can make an exception for your engineers, or at the very least, in the short term while you enlist your necessary changes.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
davidlewis5275
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-28-2011
Message 9 of 10 (684 Views)

Re: Change Licpath.lic via vbscript

02-28-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: TravisNave

We are probably going to turn it off but again non issue

I want vbs, its more transparent to the users.

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,994
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 10 of 10 (681 Views)

Re: Change Licpath.lic via vbscript

02-28-2012 11:55 AM in reply to: davidlewis5275

I can respect that.  The IT guy in me says to just use the login script... but you probably really don't have access to that!  :smileyvery-happy:

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Manufacturing CAD & IT Manager Resource
Additional information for installing, licensing & deploying Inventor, the Product Design Suites and Factory Design Suites.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube