Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Forging deformation simulation

30 REPLIES 30
Message 1 of 31
Anonymous
2142 Views, 30 Replies

Forging deformation simulation

I am new to Autodesk simulation and want to better understand the capabilities to determine if the software is right for my task before persuing it further.

I would like to simulate heating two steel parts non-uniformly and then pushing them together to simulate the plastic deformation that results. Is the Autodesk simulation software appropriate for this?  Ideally, the material property effects of the non-uniform temperature on the steel will be taken into account in the deformation behavior and the deformation can be simulated with a large amount of plastic deformation.

Can anyone answer if the software can indeed do such simulations and what sort of limitations I'd be faced with?

Much thanks!

Tags (1)
30 REPLIES 30
Message 2 of 31
SaMurgie
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi

Autodesk Simulation Mechanical or Professional is appropriate for this type of analysis.  A thermal analysis can be run to get the temperature definitions, then a nonlinear time-dependent structural analysis (MES) can be run using the temperatures from that thermal analysis.

Sam

Message 3 of 31
hupn

Hi,

This is one typical one-directional multi-physics supported by Autodesk Simulation. Autodesk simulation supports both steady and transient thermal analysis. Therefore, you can choose the proper one for your case, and the mechanic event simulation can take either thermal result and perform the proper structure simulation.

hup 

Message 4 of 31
Anonymous

Thank you for the replies.  I may have some more specific questions once I've looked into this further.

Regards.

Message 5 of 31
Anonymous

Hi,