Simulation Mechanical Forums (Read-Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Simulation Mechanical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Simulation Mechanical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First time using Autodesk multiphysics, and am rather lost.

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
humbug1987
576 Views, 5 Replies

First time using Autodesk multiphysics, and am rather lost.

Hello everyone.

I'm a young student of mechanical engineering, and I am using this program for the first time. I have used other FEA programs in the past like strand7, though was rather clunky... so its nice to be in a streamlined user interface... however I am a little lost in terms of the major processes at play. I wanted to play with cfd mainly, but I need to learn how to use the fea functions also.

I was able to import some 3d models into the program from autocad and I was able to mesh it, however I was confused when it prompts me for model type, such as 2d, 3d, 3d fluid, brick etc etc. Also when I run through a cfd template, it doesn't allow me to assign materials of the object, just air and water.

I wasn't even able to assign inlets and outlets. Very confused. So I assume I am forgetting something very important.

I wasn't even able to generate a simulation from the basic wizard at the startup screen... so again, I think I am unaware of something important required for the program to operate.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to any helpful replies, as I'm really excited to use this program. It looks like a lot of fun, but not until I overcome these first but most frustrating hurdles.

Thanks in advance

Brendan

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
humbug1987
in reply to: humbug1987

Well, I have finished modeling my drawing that I wish to import. I'll attach a copy of the file so you guys can see what I'm trying to do.