Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apply iLogic rule to several files

15 REPLIES 15
Message 1 of 16
karthur1
5197 Views, 15 Replies

Apply iLogic rule to several files

I have an iLogic rule that I want to add to several files that are already existing. Is there an "easy" way to do this other than opening each and every file, creating a new rule, pasting in the code and then saving the file?
If I had a macro that would create the rule I could run it with KwikBatch.

Using R2010/11
15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
japike
in reply to: karthur1

I'm just starting out in iLogic myself, so this may not be right, but isn't that what external rules are for?
Jeff
Peace,
Jeff
Inventor 2022
Message 3 of 16
MjDeck
in reply to: karthur1

I would recommend looking at external rules. They can't be triggered by changes in particular parameters, but they can be triggered by other events.

If you're sure you want the same internal rule in several documents, here's a macro that will do it:

{code}
Sub AddRule()

Dim iLogicAuto As Object
Set iLogicAuto = GetiLogicAddin(ThisApplication)
If (iLogicAuto Is Nothing) Then Exit Sub

Dim doc As Document
Set doc = ThisApplication.ActiveDocument

Dim ruleName As String
ruleName = "MyRule"

Dim oldRule As Object
Set oldRule = iLogicAuto.GetRule(doc, ruleName)
If (Not oldRule Is Nothing) Then Exit Sub

Dim ruleText As String
ruleText = ReadAllText("C:\MyRule.txt")

Dim newRule As Object
Set newRule = iLogicAuto.AddRule(doc, ruleName, ruleText)

End Sub

Function ReadAllText(strPath As String) As String
' From http://www.vbknowledgebase.com/?Id=23&Desc=Read-Text-File-into-string-VB6
On Error GoTo ErrTrap
Dim intFileNumber As Integer

If Dir(strPath) = "" Then Exit Function
intFileNumber = FreeFile
Open strPath For Input As #intFileNumber