Autodesk Factory Design Suite General

Reply
Valued Mentor
Logos_Atum
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 1 of 4 (189 Views)
Accepted Solution

The next big thing in Ilogic

189 Views, 3 Replies
05-08-2013 01:19 AM

Hello there,

 

when the library of assets is complete our firm would like me

to make a connection to a tool which essentially generates all

the dimensions of the assets and therefore change the assets.

 

The desired functionality is to make FDS generate an assem-

bly of assets by the use of an Excel sheet. This would be a rack.

All the parts needed are there. Therefore I would need FDS to:

 

1. place the feet of the rack

2. place the rack on top of the feet (connectors are already the-

    re)

3. dimension the single shelve part (height varies, width is all the

    same in the column.

4. place the top of the rack onto the column

5. do an array of the column of shelves

6. mirror the column

7. save the shelve for later use

 

The aim is to create a whole shelve by the use of the tool that

is already there and Inventors ability to accept tables as para-

meters when linked to an external file which would be genera-

ted by the tool itself.

 

Basically we need to automate the input of dimensions, the

placing of the assets and the array as well as the mirror com-

mand.

 

Did someone do something in the way already and are there

any examples to look up how this can be done and how to 

adapt our environment according to this?

 

My thoughts so far:

 

1. I would need the tool to output not only dimensions but al-

    so coordinates of the individual segments the shelve cons-

    ists of. I don´t think the connector points can be used when

    programming.

 

2. I would need at least a dummy array as I don´t know if I can

    get FDS to do an array as long as there aren´t any objects.

    I mean there WILL be objects- but can I use a linked Excel

    sheet for ANY array that will be there ?

 

3. I might need no array. It could be easier to make FDS place

    all the instances individually. This could result in a performan-

    ce problem, but would be handy if connectors can´t be used.

 

All suggestions are very welcome. I´ve attached a screenshot of

what the output should look like. As it´s very uniform, automatisa-

tion should be possible.

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel

- 2500K @ 4.2Ghz- 8GB - Radeon7970 -
- Xeon 1230V2 @ stock Ghz- 32GB - W7000-
- 2x Xeon 2670V2 - 64GB - W7000 -

- Factory Design Suite Premium Subscription-
Employee
XuesongBai
Posts: 393
Registered: ‎03-15-2009
Message 2 of 4 (177 Views)

Re: The next big thing in Ilogic

05-08-2013 07:39 PM in reply to: Logos_Atum

Hi Daniel,

 

I have did the same thing before. The workflow is as below.

1,Create the key control parameters in Excel

2,Link the parameters in Excel in Assembly parameter list by Link in Factory assembly

3,Place the assset in Factory assembly

4,Do array and mirror and link Excel parameters

5,Save the assembly

So any parameters updated in Excel, the assembly will be updated accordingly.

I create an simple sample by you assets you sent me before(Excel-Assembly-iLogic-Asset.zip) And recorded the workflow video for you reference(Parameters control.mp4 which is shared at Autodesk 360(http://a360.co/11l2SLV) since it is too big to upload in this thread.)

 

Thanks,

-Xuesong

Valued Mentor
Logos_Atum
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 3 of 4 (169 Views)

Re: The next big thing in Ilogic

05-10-2013 12:02 AM in reply to: XuesongBai

Hello Xusesong,

 

thank you so much for the video. I will keep you informed

about our progress and might be getting back to you later.

 

I will use the very same vid to show the theoretical capabi-

lities to my colleagues.

 

Thank you so much

 

 

Daniel

- 2500K @ 4.2Ghz- 8GB - Radeon7970 -
- Xeon 1230V2 @ stock Ghz- 32GB - W7000-
- 2x Xeon 2670V2 - 64GB - W7000 -

- Factory Design Suite Premium Subscription-
Employee
XuesongBai
Posts: 393
Registered: ‎03-15-2009
Message 4 of 4 (166 Views)

Re: The next big thing in Ilogic

05-10-2013 12:16 AM in reply to: Logos_Atum

Hi Daniel,

 

You are welcome. I will be waiting for creating complex system by you,

 

Thanks,

-Xuesong

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community