Autodesk Factory Design Suite General

Reply
Valued Mentor
Logos_Atum
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 1 of 3 (153 Views)

Custom materials in Showcase

153 Views, 2 Replies
04-23-2013 04:32 AM

Hello there,

 

Showcase dosen´t seem to render custom material

and especially textures. Thats a major setback when

it comes to resource saving fences or logos for exam-

ple. Alpha channels are just great for this purpose

and it seems the textures aren´t rendered at all out

of Inventor.

 

How to do it right? How to make use of the materials

with textures in showcase too? Autodesk materials

feature textures too and they work just fine.

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel 

- 2500K @ 4.2Ghz- 8GB - Radeon7970 -
- Xeon 1230V2 @ stock Ghz- 32GB - W7000-
- 2x Xeon 2670V2 - 64GB - W7000 -

- Factory Design Suite Premium Subscription-
Contributor
adsk_loren
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎11-06-2012
Message 2 of 3 (143 Views)

Re: Custom materials in Showcase

04-23-2013 03:40 PM in reply to: Logos_Atum

Hi,

 

My understanding is that the Autodesk materials are supposed to provide consistency across the products. The Autodesk Material library was only created a few years ago, so every product has it's own materials that were optimized for it's type of functionality.

 

I don't have Showcase installed right now, but I believe the Showcase materials have more properties than the Autodesk materials. You could try applying the checker plate material from the Autodesk library and the Showcase Enhanced Materials library and compare the settings in the Material Properties. (select an object and press Ctrl+M to open the material properties dialog).

 

Also, it's pretty easy to switch from an Inventor material to a Showcase material. You can right-click on an object and select the All Objects with this Material command. I've used this on a roller conveyor system, and it should work well for fencing.

 

I think I've hit the limit of my knowledge, but I hope this helped. I would try the Showcase forum if you want help finding specific textures or information on creating/converting decals.

Regards,
Loren
Valued Mentor
Logos_Atum
Posts: 492
Registered: ‎07-10-2012
Message 3 of 3 (139 Views)

Re: Custom materials in Showcase

04-24-2013 12:07 AM in reply to: adsk_loren

Hello Loren,

 

that´s quite a bit I think. I thought about the material editor too

and usually I employ the same course of action when handling

materials. The downside is Showcase does not (now there I go)

show the custom materials or the Inventor materials.

 

I think I should collect all the cusom materials in a new library

and Import it. But I honestly don´t know how to do it right, plus

I don´t know wherethe librarys are located :smileyfrustrated:

 

That´s the situation I´m in currently.

 

 

Kind regards

 

Daniel

 

 

 

 

 

- 2500K @ 4.2Ghz- 8GB - Radeon7970 -
- Xeon 1230V2 @ stock Ghz- 32GB - W7000-
- 2x Xeon 2670V2 - 64GB - W7000 -

- Factory Design Suite Premium Subscription-

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community