Autodesk Architectural Desktop 2007 & Prior

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
dallas_lindley
Posts: 109
Registered: ‎04-11-2006
Message 1 of 6 (1,327 Views)

hatch fill

1327 Views, 5 Replies
05-14-2008 10:37 PM
Hello all,
adt 06

I have had success performing this function but now im getting the "boundary duplicates an existing boundary" even though the walls or area does not highlight, and the hatch appears through my walls, any thoughts? Thank you very much.

Dallas
*Nathan
Message 2 of 6 (1,327 Views)

Re: hatch fill

05-14-2008 11:06 PM in reply to: dallas_lindley
Dallas you got to tell me what time you work to?
It's 2pm here in Perth Australia. I keep seeing your posts appear in the
middle of the day here. :-)
I get that message when I pick an area to hatch that has already been
selected to hatch ie it's no big deal. Yes sometimes it doesn;t appear to
highlight.

When you say hatch fill what do you mean? I use ADT6 as well. Are you
meaning a traditional Acad hatch? I don't use them anymore. I either use a
slab with hatch pattern for tiles, an AECPolygon with hatching or an AECArea
which will give you areas in a schedule. Because acad hatch is unreliable
and not editable easily I use aec objects instead. If you click on an
existing hatch you can create a boundary which is actually an AECPolygon
which you can then add a hatch (to a style you create) and delete the
original hatch.


wrote in message news:5931605@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hello all,
adt 06

I have had success performing this function but now im getting the "boundary
duplicates an existing boundary" even though the walls or area does not
highlight, and the hatch appears through my walls, any thoughts? Thank you
very much.

Dallas
Distinguished Contributor
dallas_lindley
Posts: 109
Registered: ‎04-11-2006
Message 3 of 6 (1,327 Views)

Re: hatch fill

05-15-2008 12:27 AM in reply to: dallas_lindley
Thanks Nathan,

The problem was I had some small closet door jambs left open, thats why my walls were shaded, I got it resolved. I use a solid color fill, mainly for room coding when requested. Its 2:20 am here in Iowa, usually not up this late but trying to catch up before vacation next month. How's the weather?

Dallas
*Nathan
Message 4 of 6 (1,327 Views)

Re: hatch fill

05-15-2008 02:10 AM in reply to: dallas_lindley
Do you use Display themes? Sound like they would be good for that. From
spaces I believe. I think we have them in 6.
Jambs open? Are you drawing them as acad instead of ADT?

wrote in message news:5931609@discussion.autodesk.com...
Thanks Nathan,

The problem was I had some small closet door jambs left open, thats why my
walls were shaded, I got it resolved. I use a solid color fill, mainly for
room coding when requested. Its 2:20 am here in Iowa, usually not up this
late but trying to catch up before vacation next month. How's the weather?

Dallas
New Member
sunnyjedi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-26-2012
Message 5 of 6 (1,082 Views)

Re: hatch fill

02-26-2012 05:52 AM in reply to: dallas_lindley

Go to properties by right clicking on toolbars and make sure that the three options are ByLayer, ByLayer, and 0.18mm respectively......

New Member
sunnyjedi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-26-2012
Message 6 of 6 (1,080 Views)

Re: hatch fill

02-26-2012 05:53 AM in reply to: dallas_lindley

Go to properties by right clicking on toolbars and make sure that the three options are ByLayer, ByLayer, and 0.18mm respectively......

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community