Autodesk Architectural Desktop 2007 & Prior

Reply
Member
scothand
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-02-2005
Message 1 of 10 (196 Views)

Project Properties not saving

196 Views, 9 Replies
09-02-2005 07:54 AM
Whenever I create a new project, or attempt to edit existing projects, I can open the dialogs to edit the properties of the project, but they don't save. ie. when I close the dialog, they revert back to their initial setting.
I can open up the .apj file and manually change some things, and they will stay changed, but I that's obviously not the correct method.

Any ideas why this would be happening?
*Matt Dillon
Message 2 of 10 (196 Views)

Re: Project Properties not saving

09-02-2005 07:59 AM in reply to: scothand
Is your project on a network drive? If so, what NOS are you running?

--

Matt Dillon
Autodesk Architectural Desktop Certified Expert

View my ADT Blog "Breaking Down the Walls" at
http://www.modocrmadt.blogspot.com

wrote in message news:4946477@discussion.autodesk.com...
Whenever I create a new project, or attempt to edit existing projects, I can
open the dialogs to edit the properties of the project, but they don't save.
ie. when I close the dialog, they revert back to their initial setting.
I can open up the .apj file and manually change some things, and they will
stay changed, but I that's obviously not the correct method.

Any ideas why this would be happening?
Member
scothand
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-02-2005
Message 3 of 10 (196 Views)

Re: Project Properties not saving

09-02-2005 08:06 AM in reply to: scothand
The projects are stored on a hard drive connected by a network cable.
So the answers to your questions are "yes" and "none".

The server drive we use is here
*Matt Dillon
Message 4 of 10 (196 Views)

Re: Project Properties not saving

09-02-2005 08:15 AM in reply to: scothand
By NOS I meant what network operating system are you running?

--

Matt Dillon
Autodesk Architectural Desktop Certified Expert

View my ADT Blog "Breaking Down the Walls" at
http://www.modocrmadt.blogspot.com

wrote in message news:4946481@discussion.autodesk.com...
The projects are stored on a hard drive connected by a network cable.
So the answers to your questions are "yes" and "none".

The server drive we use is
href="http://www.snapappliance.com/page.cfm?name=1100main&nav=1100">here
Member
scothand
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-02-2005
Message 5 of 10 (196 Views)

Re: Project Properties not saving

09-02-2005 08:19 AM in reply to: scothand
Yeah, there is no network operating system. The workstations are running WinXPpro, and they hook into a router. The Snap Server also just plugs into the router. It acts (and is) a hard drive that is accessible to all the workstations. It has no processor, or operating system.

I did create a new project on my local drive, which was editable and functional. So the problem lies in creating a usable project on the Snap Server.

Check that link I posted above for info on the unit.
Thank you.
*Matt Dillon
Message 6 of 10 (196 Views)

Re: Project Properties not saving

09-02-2005 08:26 AM in reply to: scothand
Knowing nothing about your "Snap Server", I'd still have to say that's where
your problem lies. Either there are permissions issues or there is something
in the communications protocol that is preventing Project Navigator and
Project Browser from properly saving data to the XML file.

I've seen similar situations on other non-Windows-based NOS's.

--

Matt Dillon
Autodesk Architectural Desktop Certified Expert

View my ADT Blog "Breaking Down the Walls" at
http://www.modocrmadt.blogspot.com

wrote in message news:4946519@discussion.autodesk.com...
Yeah, there is no network operating system. The workstations are running
WinXPpro, and they hook into a router. The Snap Server also just plugs into
the router. It acts (and is) a hard drive that is accessible to all the
workstations. It has no processor, or operating system.

I did create a new project on my local drive, which was editable and
functional. So the problem lies in creating a usable project on the Snap
Server.

Check that link I posted above for info on the unit.
Thank you.
Member
scothand
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-02-2005
Message 7 of 10 (196 Views)

Re: Project Properties not saving

09-02-2005 08:34 AM in reply to: scothand
It functions just like a remote drive. Like if another workstation had a shared directory that was write-enabled, or if a usb flash drive were plugged in. Same functionality, permissions, etc...

Do you know of any programming issues, where ADT wouldn't like to work with a project in either of those examples?
*Matt Dillon
Message 8 of 10 (196 Views)

Re: Project Properties not saving

09-02-2005 09:32 AM in reply to: scothand
I'm not familiar with the protocols being used, so I really can't answer
that, beyond saying that, again, I have seen issues with Project Navigator
when being used in a non-Windows NOS environment.

--

Matt Dillon
Autodesk Architectural Desktop Certified Expert

View my ADT Blog "Breaking Down the Walls" at
http://www.modocrmadt.blogspot.com

wrote in message news:4946525@discussion.autodesk.com...
It functions just like a remote drive. Like if another workstation had a
shared directory that was write-enabled, or if a usb flash drive were
plugged in. Same functionality, permissions, etc...

Do you know of any programming issues, where ADT wouldn't like to work with
a project in either of those examples?
*David Kurtz
Message 9 of 10 (196 Views)

Re: Project Properties not saving

09-06-2005 01:51 PM in reply to: scothand
scothand wrote:
> It functions just like a remote drive. Like if another workstation had a shared directory that was write-enabled, or if a usb flash drive were plugged in. Same functionality, permissions, etc...

> Do you know of any programming issues, where ADT wouldn't like to work with a project in either of those examples?

Your "Snap Server" does indeed use some type of NOS, else it could not
"Talk" over the network or process information.

According to http://www.snapappliance.com depending on what type of
device you have a variety of transfer and file protocols that are
controllable via a browser. I think you should call whomever set this up
and let them know it's not working properly (that's not to say ADT isn't
brain dead when implementing stuff, but ADT works fine with win NT, 2k &
2003 servers). Perhaps start with talking a look at how the device does
it's file locks, perhaps it is not releasing them, or another person has
the file locked for writing (most likely). Turning on or off NetBEUI,
and looking at your NetBIOS over TCP/IP settings on the device and the
workstations could be the next step.... Either way, you need to get
someone familiar with your network setup to trouble shoot it.


--
David Kurtz
Peckham & Wright Architects, Inc.
Columbia, Missouri
New Member
damian.keckeisen
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-15-2007
Message 10 of 10 (127 Views)

Re: Project Properties not saving

05-02-2012 07:26 AM in reply to: scothand

I am having the exact same problem with the project properties not saving after editing anything. 

 

The only way around it I found was to immediatley open another project after editing the properies, then switching back. 

 

This only started happening when we upgraded from Arch 2009 to Arch 2012.  Same network, same operating systems.  Nothing is set to read only. 

 

Anyone have any idea on the fix???

 

Damian

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community