Announcements
IMPORTANT. Forum in Read Only mode. You can no longer submit new questions or replies. Please read this message for details
Autodesk Architectural Desktop 2007 & Prior
Welcome to Autodesk’s Autodesk Architectural Desktop 2007 & Prior Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Autodesk Architectural Desktop 2007 & Prior topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 6
bob
Community Visitor
165 Views, 5 Replies

Elevation views

I'm new to ADT and making the transition from R-14. I have managed to develop a drawing of a 3 story house with roof by following the procedure of "constructs" for each level. I put them together in a model view and thought things were going fairly well till I try to create the elevations. I started by creating a new exterior view drawing called elevations using the "sections/elevations" type. When I open that drawing all of the levels are disconnected. I suspect I'm doing something wrong in how I set up my drawing as to coordinates. 3D is new to me and I can't find in the user guide where it explains how to start your drawing with coordinates.
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
TerryThomas
in reply to: bob

Start with a pencil and paper and imagine a layer cake on a plate!!!!

Draw five boxes one on top of each other. Each box represents a layer (Construct) of the cake (Model) The layers are not equal in thickness so the diagram is used to determine each thickness. Layer one is say 2 feet thick (Foundation/Footing) Layers two, three and four are equal thickness of say 10 feet (First floor/Second floor/Third floor). Layer five (Roof) may be iced later so if you think it will be 10 feet allow fifteen feet. (This will make sure your photo (Elevation) of the finished cake will not cut off the icing and candles.(roof covering and chimneys) The cream filling between the layers represent the datums of each floor.