Autodesk Architectural Desktop 2007 & Prior

Reply
Valued Contributor
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎07-12-2004
Message 1 of 5 (209 Views)

ADT 2004 Reinstall - Can't get HP 500 plotter going

209 Views, 4 Replies
07-23-2007 01:42 PM
New PC - XP Pro
ADT 2004 Reinstall
Have all my customizations in and everything works but plotting. Have been messing with it all day...nothing. Have downloaded the HP 500 drivers but XP is not recognizing them. Please help.

Thanks,
Chuck
*Dean Saadallah
Message 2 of 5 (209 Views)

Re: ADT 2004 Reinstall - Can't get HP 500 plotter going

07-24-2007 06:24 AM in reply to: cadaps
>>....downloaded the HP 500 drivers but XP is not recognizing them...<<<

Try again, you downloaded the wrong set or you did not follow installation
instructions.

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--
Valued Contributor
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎07-12-2004
Message 3 of 5 (209 Views)

Re: ADT 2004 Reinstall - Can't get HP 500 plotter going

07-24-2007 03:57 PM in reply to: cadaps
Actually Dean, I have tried again.....amd again and again. I wasted an entire day trying to figure it out. Then turned to a local pc shop to help. They were also unsuccessful. The printer is attached via USB and XP is recognizing the hardware and prompting to install the drivers for it. Fine, I walk through the process and direct the installer to the folder where the files were downloaded from HP's site, (which b.t.w are the correct drivers, trust me I know what plotter I have). The next prompt is the installer telling me that the plotter was unable to be installed. I realize that you take it upon yourself to answer every person's posting and it might seam that one of your short answers would be better than nothing....but not in this case. Thanks so much for your input.
Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 604
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 5 (209 Views)

Re: ADT 2004 Reinstall - Can't get HP 500 plotter going

07-24-2007 04:47 PM in reply to: cadaps
So you cannot install the plotter in Windows XP altogether or just in ADT2004?
*Dean Saadallah
Message 5 of 5 (209 Views)

Re: ADT 2004 Reinstall - Can't get HP 500 plotter going

07-25-2007 09:17 AM in reply to: cadaps
Actually, I take on posts where the user cannot be bothered to share a lot
of information, see why, ask the obvious question and offer the obvious
answer: most folks around here ignore vague postings like yours, it tends to
lead to heated discussions where the OP thinks he/she is being talked down
to etc.

Your problem, so far based on your posts, has nothing to do with ADT or any
Autodesk product. So, you should be posting in HP's open discussion areas or
help, or contacting HP Support, or trying another USB port, another USB
cable, using something other than USB for a connection, testing on another
pc to rule out yours as being the problem, asking HP Support why their
driver does not see their hardware, and more.
Or if you are just genuinely desperate, posting in the print-plot discussion
area for fellow hp500 users' help would at least be in the correct area for
the topic at hand.

I'm glad you know everything, wish it applied here too.

--
Dean Saadallah
Add-on products for LT
http://www.pendean.com/lt
--

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community