Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

printing half-size on y-axis on HP4480 and HP2510 deskjets

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
fredbarb
692 Views, 4 Replies

printing half-size on y-axis on HP4480 and HP2510 deskjets

I inadvertently posted this as a reply to an earlier subject, and there was no response, so I'm posting this as a new problem.

I've been using Autosketch for years ( in the 1980's), but I have found that the recent drawings have printed half size  in one dimension.  I assumed that the problem was scaling  of some sort, but when I printed a drawing from a file that printed successfully in 2012, it too was similarly shrunk in the y direction.  I have changed my printer within the last 6 months from an HP1300 all-in-one to an HP4480 and then an HP2510.  Is this a print driver problem?  Or is it possible to have x and y axes at different scales?

What's the solution?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
StevenMac
in reply to: fredbarb

Sounds like an issue with the printer driver. Wonder if an email to a sopport person would get you anywhere?

A quick and dirty solution might be to 'print to pdf' (PDF Creator, say) and physically print the PDF out.

Message 3 of 5
fredbarb
in reply to: StevenMac

I'm one of those idiots who doesn't throw stuff out. I collected my original 1350 cd and the printer, uninstalled the new printer, reinstalled the old one. Bingo! Autosketch prints absolutely fine - even the cartridges in the old printer were fine. The problem seems to be that
a.. I think that autosketch doesn't allow different x-y scales. I think they have to be 'natural'.
b.. autosketch comes as a no option cd input - plug and play - no accounting of printer makes or models
c.. the latest HP printers all load similarly with a 'quick' installation, whereas the HP1350 takes ten minutes to load during installation
d.. I don't know whether autosketch10 comes with a variable x-y scale option