AutoSketch

Reply
Contributor
paul.wacko
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-16-2011
Message 11 of 28 (4,320 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

02-28-2011 05:20 AM in reply to: Frodad

Turn the UAC off from the getting started menu.

User Account Control.

Then install your program

 

Paul

Paul Jackson
Western Australia
http://www.resolv.com.au
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-30-2002
Message 12 of 28 (3,696 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

09-30-2011 11:52 AM in reply to: Frodad

Try,

Setting up virtual XP. on Windows 7 (I'm using Ultimate)

 

Then go here.

http://boardreader.com/thread/Windows_7_Autodesk_Discussion_Groups_bhwqcX1mfzj.html

 

I did what he suggests for Auto Sketch 2.1 and it WORKED. Amazed.

 

Finally I can dump that old XP machine. I have now got access to 15 years of autosketch drawings.

 

 

Member
RHTE
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 13 of 28 (3,690 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

09-30-2011 11:58 AM in reply to: billjest

This has been the only solution Ive been using and Billjest is correct, this works well.

New Member
rwsql
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
Message 14 of 28 (3,458 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

12-09-2011 08:08 PM in reply to: Frodad

Good Folk,

 

Do any of the solutions mentioned so far (before 12/9/2011)

on this topic work with windows 7 home premium?

 

Has Autodesk indicated whether a version of Autosketch

will be available that will work with Window 7 without the XP

virtual machine?

 

Thanks for any help - I sure can use it.

/Robert

Mentor
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎02-20-2009
Message 15 of 28 (3,436 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

12-12-2011 02:04 AM in reply to: rwsql

Robert I use 'sketch 10 and Win7 (32 bit) at home, and 'sketch 10 and Win7 (64 bit) at work.

 

The program runs just fine.

Active Member
gregmacp
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-23-2010
Message 16 of 28 (3,011 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

04-09-2012 06:36 PM in reply to: paul.wacko

I had to go the virtual  machine route (XP running on the machine as well as Win7) as well. AS ran fine at first in Win7 but then kept freezing and I couldn't do a "Save As." Autodesk  if not commenting on whether they will be offering an fix to AS10 or a new version that will allow the program to run in Win7. Very annoying as I cannot print AS files except to Acrobat.

 

Greg

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
Message 17 of 28 (2,749 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

07-17-2012 11:40 PM in reply to: Frodad

My solution to the problem was to install Autosketch (my version is 6.1) onto a memory stick, on a Windows XP PC, and use it from the memory stick on my Windows 7 Laptop, apart from failing to register on the computer it works perfectly well (as far as I can tell).

 

The next step was to copy the Autosketch Folder from the memory stick to Program files on my C: drive, still have the 'failed to Register' error message, but when I close the message, the program still works with no groans, I haven't come across any problems yet anyway.

 

The final step will be finding how to use Regedit to register Autosketch on the laptop. Maybe the problem lies in the Installing program 'setup.exe', perhaps it is the cause of problems in setting up Autosketch on Windows 7. I'm no computer guru, otherwise I may have been able to load it on the way others have been successful.

 

Thanks for the useful information and the space.

Mentor
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎02-20-2009
Message 18 of 28 (2,744 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

07-18-2012 04:27 PM in reply to: ianhobba

There's a program by microsoft (I think it was made by another company that was taken over/sold to microsoft) called Fixit. Free to download and it may help install/uninstall issues on Win7

 

http://support.microsoft.com/mats/Program_Install_and_Uninstall/

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
Message 19 of 28 (2,740 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

07-18-2012 06:58 PM in reply to: paul.wacko

Thank you StevenMac, a good suggestion, but because I haven't installed the software on the comnputer by way of the setup.exe, it isn't in the registry, so an error in the registry can't be found by fixit. Never mind, Autosketch is working on my laptop, all I have to do is close an error message on the screen and start drawing! Thanks again.

tom
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-19-2012
Message 20 of 28 (1,986 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

12-19-2012 10:25 AM in reply to: Frodad

Regardless of what Autodesk says, Autosketch 10 installs and runs well on a 64bit Dell desktop.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community