AutoSketch

Reply
New Member
Frodad
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-23-2010
Message 1 of 28 (12,930 Views)

Windows 7 vs Autosketch

12930 Views, 27 Replies
07-23-2010 09:32 AM

I purchased the latest version of Autosketch 2 years ago.

 

I just bought a new laptop (Windows 7 and 64 bit) which will not allow be to load my Autosketch.

 

I have all my files.

 

What can I do to work with these files?

 

Thanks for any help.

Member
RHTE
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 2 of 28 (12,828 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

08-12-2010 09:07 AM in reply to: Frodad

I am experiencing similar issues.  Using AutoSketch 2.1

 

Ive tried the compatibility tool, which only comes back with:

 "A problem is preventing the troubleshooter from starting."

There is nothing wrong with the trouble shooter.

 

I tried right clicking and opening the setup.exe properties, and setting the compatibility mode to both XP and 95.

Each time getting the error message:

 "The version of this file is not compatible with the version of Windows you're running. Check your computer's system information to see whether you need an x86 (32bit) or x64 (64-bit) version of the program, and then contact the software publisher."

 

So here I am, checking with the publisher... or this message board provided by such.

 

 

My next move would be to try installing Autosketch using the Windows XP emulator (virtual machine) provided with Windows 7.

 

If anyone has any other solutions Please let us know.

New Member
chriscuenca
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-26-2010
Message 3 of 28 (12,719 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

08-26-2010 02:59 AM in reply to: Frodad

I have autosketch 2.1, used with an old geotechnical database. Works fine on XP but need to load it on borrowed win 7 laptop and get message missing BWCCENI.dll file when I try to display logs. Can you advise or copy me missing file?

Many thanks

New Member
giovannidi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-12-2010
Message 4 of 28 (11,983 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

11-12-2010 04:35 PM in reply to: Frodad

Did you ever get any satisfaction regarding your Autosketch and Win7?

I have the same problem.

 

Member
RHTE
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-12-2010
Message 5 of 28 (11,971 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

11-13-2010 12:57 PM in reply to: Frodad

Running it in Windows XP virtual machine within XP has been the only solution I have had.

Distinguished Contributor
Posts: 127
Registered: ‎10-08-2008
Message 6 of 28 (11,929 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

11-15-2010 08:19 AM in reply to: Frodad

We're talking two very different things in one thread.  A very old AS (2.1) and a very new AS. 

 

I've put and run AS9 on several Win 7 machines.    No problem except so far I have to open AS and then open the file.....just douple clicking the file doesn't open AS.  

 

AS9 was made before Win7 and before Vista.  I would think that AS10 should be even better with respect to this. 

 

Fred    

Contributor
Scott_P
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 7 of 28 (11,913 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

11-15-2010 06:21 PM in reply to: Fred9002

AS10 does seem to be running smoothly on Win7, although I have a limited amount time working with this configuration.  The install was pain-free.

Contributor
Scott_P
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-07-2010
Message 8 of 28 (11,911 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

11-15-2010 06:24 PM in reply to: Scott_P

I'll also add that even though the op is asking about AS7, I had absolutely no joy trying to get AS6 loaded on a Win7 machine, in case that is of use to anyone.

Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎04-14-2003
Message 9 of 28 (11,877 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

11-16-2010 06:06 PM in reply to: Frodad

I have had no problems with AS-9 on my Windows 7 laptop except that I too have to start Autosketch prior to clicking on a .skf file (which under XP would start AS).

New Member
Bobber70
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-27-2011
Message 10 of 28 (10,553 Views)

Re: Windows 7 vs Autosketch

02-27-2011 09:50 AM in reply to: Frodad

I have AS6 and win7. Any cures for installing?

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community