AutoSketch

Reply
Member
cgessler
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-07-2007
Message 1 of 9 (480 Views)

Autosketch symbols

480 Views, 8 Replies
08-07-2007 01:55 PM
I have been trying to figure out how to import symbols into the library and retain the scale. i.e. 1/8"=1'. No matter what I do when I drop the symbol in the drawing it's huge, and doesn't keep the 1/8" scale I thought I created it in.
*Harvey
Message 2 of 9 (480 Views)

Re: Autosketch symbols

08-07-2007 02:40 PM in reply to: cgessler
cgessler wrote:
> I have been trying to figure out how to import symbols into the library and retain the scale. i.e. 1/8"=1'. No matter what I do when I drop the symbol in the drawing it's huge, and doesn't keep the 1/8" scale I thought I created it in.

Try: Change the scale on the symbol to what you
want and save it back to the library (over-write).

H
*Ric Norris
Message 3 of 9 (480 Views)

Re: Autosketch symbols

08-08-2007 01:57 AM in reply to: cgessler
I don't get it....!!!

I always thought drawings & symbols etc were drawn at a scale of 1:1 &
printing/plotting determined the scale. Perhaps I'm wrong but I could swear
I've read that before somewhere...!!!???


wrote in message news:5682662@discussion.autodesk.com...
I have been trying to figure out how to import symbols into the library and
retain the scale. i.e. 1/8"=1'. No matter what I do when I drop the symbol
in the drawing it's huge, and doesn't keep the 1/8" scale I thought I
created it in.
Member
cgessler
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-07-2007
Message 4 of 9 (480 Views)

Re: Autosketch symbols

08-08-2007 08:14 AM in reply to: cgessler
You are correct, however to import them into a library you can choose to have them at a certain scale, and my problem is when I create the "icon" then change the scale to what I want, save it again as a .dwg at that scale, then import it to the library it doesn't keep it. When I open a new document to make my layout and change the scale to 1/8" and then bring in my newly created symbol. It doesn't stay at 1/8" like how I created-saved-imported, it goes to like 1"=50'. So I was wondering is there a step I am missing, or is it Autodesk doing whatever it wants to?
*John Fraser
Message 5 of 9 (480 Views)

Re: Autosketch symbols

08-09-2007 03:49 AM in reply to: cgessler
wrote in message news:5683485@discussion.autodesk.com...
You are correct, however to import them into a library you can choose to
have them at a certain scale, and my problem is when I create the "icon"
then change the scale to what I want, save it again as a .dwg at that scale,
then import it to the library it doesn't keep it. When I open a new document
to make my layout and change the scale to 1/8" and then bring in my newly
created symbol. It doesn't stay at 1/8" like how I created-saved-imported,
it goes to like 1"=50'. So I was wondering is there a step I am missing, or
is it Autodesk doing whatever it wants to?

It's been my experience that regardless of what drawn scale a symbol is,
they're imported at the drawing scale. If the symbols were manually resized
previously, they will be at an incorrect scale.

Cheers,
John
Distinguished Contributor
fredt
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-17-2006
Message 6 of 9 (480 Views)

Re: Autosketch symbols

08-09-2007 11:11 AM in reply to: cgessler
Maybe I wrong, but here's the understanding/method that has worked for me:

A symbol has a fixed inherent size. It doesn't have a scale, nor a fixed "on paper" size. "Scale" is a property of a DRAWING which affect the on-paper size of the symbol.

To change the size of a symbol and store it, I "explode" and then recombine it (so that AutoSketch no longer recognizes it as an existing symbol), stretch/compress it to the new inherent size that I want, and then save it as a new symbol with a new name.
Distinguished Contributor
fredt
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-17-2006
Message 7 of 9 (480 Views)

Re: Autosketch symbols

08-09-2007 02:23 PM in reply to: cgessler
PS And that "scale factor" of an on-the-drawing symbol is just a size comparison of it to the symbol it came from.
Member
cgessler
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-07-2007
Message 8 of 9 (480 Views)

Re: Autosketch symbols

09-10-2007 07:26 AM in reply to: cgessler
Thank you all for you suggestions. It worked resizing them to the correct size then importing them. However the blue handle it really really reallly far away from the piece/symbol. When I explode it the handle goes right on top of the symbol. How do I get the handle to stay next to the symbol and not so far away?
Distinguished Contributor
fredt
Posts: 162
Registered: ‎10-17-2006
Message 9 of 9 (480 Views)

Re: Autosketch symbols

09-10-2007 11:35 AM in reply to: cgessler
Happy that it helped.

I think you're going to have to be a little more specific with your new question, maybe with a specific example.
But when I hear about a handle far from the selection, my first thought is that maybe you selected more than you thought you did. Easy to do in a right-to-left selection.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community