AutoCAD for Mac General

Reply
Contributor
jessiecchapman
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Message 1 of 6 (325 Views)
Accepted Solution

limited number of viewports?

325 Views, 5 Replies
12-03-2012 11:30 AM

Anyone else having problems making a layout with more than three viewports? If I make a fourth, it is always blank, so I juggle things in Model Space in order to put details where I want them. This has been going on since the beginning with Acad LT 2012 for Mac. Hoped the last update would fix it, but maybe no one else has that problem?

Machine has plenty of RAM (16) and handles everything else fine. Files are not tremendously large or complicated.

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,631
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 6 (316 Views)

Re: limited number of viewports?

12-03-2012 08:56 PM in reply to: jessiecchapman

Hi,

 

It is strange, because I can use more than three viewports. Look at screen-shot, there are 6 viewports (magenta color):

 

Screen Shot 2012-12-04 at 8.51.15.png

 

Maybe something wrong with layers settings (VPfreeze) in your drawings?

Could you post one of your problem drawings here?

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
jessiecchapman
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Message 3 of 6 (310 Views)

Re: limited number of viewports?

12-04-2012 07:20 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Hmm. It does seem to work on the computer I'm using now, but the one I use in another office never works. When I'm back there, I'll post you a screenshot. It lets me make another viewport, but once I get above three, the new ones are blank. I've tried REGEN and restarting, purge, audit, etc. Funny thing is the other computer is the newer one with more RAM. I've only got 8 on this one, and the viewports work fine.

There are a lot of layout tabs (maybe 20,) so I thought it was just reaching the limit of capacity.

 

Thanks for your help, as always. Nice details, too. That's exactly the type of thing I need all the viewports for! I've been rearranging things in Model Space instead, which is a bit of a pain.

jc

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,642
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 4 of 6 (303 Views)

Re: limited number of viewports?

12-05-2012 05:48 AM in reply to: jessiecchapman

MAXACTVP variable

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
Contributor
jessiecchapman
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-03-2012
Message 5 of 6 (300 Views)

Re: limited number of viewports?

12-05-2012 06:24 AM in reply to: pendean

Aha. That's it.

Thanks a million!

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,631
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 6 of 6 (291 Views)

Re: limited number of viewports?

12-05-2012 11:05 AM in reply to: pendean

Thanks for help, Dean.

Just want to add that MAXACTVP saved in drawing file and thus doesn't affect AutoCAD generally.

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community