AutoCAD for Mac General

Reply
Contributor
09165021
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-24-2011
Message 1 of 9 (6,404 Views)
Accepted Solution

Scale factor - autocad 2013

6404 Views, 8 Replies
12-27-2012 05:31 AM

Hiya. I've been working on a drawing autocad for mac 2013.

 

I want to scale my drawing by 2. Every time I try it acts as if it has worked, but the physical size hasn't changed at all. At first I thought it might need a larger scale factor to see the difference, but no matter what the value (even 0.5), the dimensions aren't changing.

 

Does anyone have any ideas what's going on? I've used the programme to scale before and it has worked. I also tried the drawing on another computer, but it made no difference

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,304
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 9 (6,395 Views)

Re: Scale factor - autocad 2013

12-27-2012 07:05 AM in reply to: 09165021
Hi,

Please clarify how do you scale drawing? Do you use SCALE command? Or you just change scale for annotations on the Status Bar?

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
09165021
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-24-2011
Message 3 of 9 (6,380 Views)

Re: Scale factor - autocad 2013

12-28-2012 07:31 AM in reply to: 09165021
I type sc, press enter, click a base point and type the value. It is working for other drawings, just not his one
*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,304
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 4 of 9 (6,373 Views)

Re: Scale factor - autocad 2013

12-28-2012 10:58 AM in reply to: 09165021
How about selecting objects you want to scale? Or you scale whole drawing?
Could you post your drawing here? Or send me to mkanaev at tandem.ru ?

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
09165021
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-24-2011
Message 5 of 9 (6,273 Views)

Re: Scale factor - autocad 2013

01-07-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: maxim_k

I'll send you the drawing. 

 

it's part of a larger drawing, but this is what I need to scale:

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,304
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 6 of 9 (6,264 Views)

Re: Scale factor - autocad 2013

01-07-2013 11:06 AM in reply to: 09165021

Hi,

 

Almost all of objects in your drawing are constrained with each other (parametric constraints feature). So when you try to scale all objects in this drawing you (as I) should get this at the command prompt:

 

Command: SC
SCALE
Select objects: Specify opposite corner: 268 found
Select objects:
Specify base point:
Specify scale factor or [Copy/Reference]: 2
One or more constrained objects cannot be resolved.

 

In order to see all constraints you have to select "Constraint bars -> Show all" from Parametric menu.

In attached file I deleted all constraints, an now it is "scalable".

 

Maxim

 

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
09165021
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-24-2011
Message 7 of 9 (6,258 Views)

Re: Scale factor - autocad 2013

01-07-2013 12:59 PM in reply to: maxim_k

Thanks a lot..it's perfect.

 

What did you do to delete all the constraints though? I went into parametrics, constraints bar, show all, but nothing changed on my drawing.

 

In fact, I don't even know what constraints are I'm afraid

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,304
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 8 of 9 (6,249 Views)

Re: Scale factor - autocad 2013

01-07-2013 08:57 PM in reply to: 09165021

09165021 wrote:

What did you do to delete all the constraints though? I went into parametrics, constraints bar, show all, but nothing changed on my drawing.



If you did this with drawing I've send to you - then there are no constraints in it, I already deleted them all.

If you will try to "Show all constraints" in your original drawing, then you should see:

Screen Shot 2013-01-08 at 8.53.18.png

 


09165021 wrote:

In fact, I don't even know what constraints are I'm afraid


You can start to learn about Parametric Constraints in AutoCAD Help here:

http://docs.autodesk.com/ACDMAC/2013/ENU/filesAUGMac/GUID-F873DE3A-0F12-4A58-B35E-0BC5C98A7F35.htm

 

Maxim

 

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Contributor
09165021
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎12-24-2011
Message 9 of 9 (6,207 Views)

Re: Scale factor - autocad 2013

01-15-2013 06:07 PM in reply to: maxim_k
I type "scale", then enter, choose a base point and then type the value Saskia

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community