AutoCAD for Mac General

Reply
Valued Contributor
David_Stacey
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 1 of 19 (3,668 Views)

PDF output and AutoCAD for Mac 2012

3668 Views, 18 Replies
08-21-2011 10:33 PM

Has anyone installed AutoCAD for Mac 2012 and tested PDF output?

 

I understand there is a new Export to PDF feature.  I've been using Adobe Acobat for PDF output from AutoCAD for Mac 2011 but this still produces large PDF files in comparison to AutoCAD for Windows.

 

What are your thoughts on the new "Export to PDF" feature?  Is it any better?

 

Appreciate any feedback you have at this early stage...

Contributor
daz9096
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-03-2011
Message 2 of 19 (3,658 Views)

Re: PDF output and AutoCAD for Mac 2012

08-22-2011 01:22 AM in reply to: David_Stacey

Hi,

 

I have just tried the new pdf export feature and it works a lot quicker than the print to pdf option in 2011, i also compared a pdf saved from a 2011 version and a pdf with the export to pdf option and the newer ones file size is around 10% smaller.

Hope that helps you.

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,629
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 3 of 19 (3,643 Views)

Re: PDF output and AutoCAD for Mac 2012

08-22-2011 04:01 AM in reply to: David_Stacey

Hi,

 

Just want to mention, that native OS X printer drivers (Gutenprint) every time gives me better results when printing (saving) to PDF than Adobe Acrobat - curve smoothness, line thickness etc.

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Active Contributor
raumpunkt
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Message 4 of 19 (3,642 Views)

Re: PDF output and AutoCAD for Mac 2012

08-22-2011 04:03 AM in reply to: David_Stacey

Easy Way to reduce Filesize is to open PDF with builtin ColorSync and Custom-Filter (Reduce File-Size).

Valued Contributor
David_Stacey
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎02-23-2011
Message 5 of 19 (3,588 Views)

Re: PDF output and AutoCAD for Mac 2012

08-23-2011 04:34 AM in reply to: David_Stacey
I received my copy of 2012 today and installed it on my MacBook Pro (after doing a clean install of Snow Leopard).

PDF output quality from the "Export to PDF" feature is a massive improvement in this release. On another note, 2012 runs so much smoother and have been able to use it in-production straight away (once the initial customizations were setup).

Overall very happy with this release. Well worth my subscription!!
Contributor
RangrStudio
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 6 of 19 (3,552 Views)

Re: PDF output and AutoCAD for Mac 2012

08-24-2011 06:22 PM in reply to: David_Stacey

I tried saving the same page with plot (save as pdf) and with export to pdf.

 

The "plotted" file is 869Kb, the "export" file is 838Kb.

 

Otherwise I don't see a difference visually.

 

The ability to edit ctb files is a very welcome addition- begins to feel like a full autocad version.

 

Now, if only we could x-ref xls files and pdf files like the windows version...

Valued Contributor
john
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎04-26-2010
Message 7 of 19 (3,512 Views)

Re: PDF output and AutoCAD for Mac 2012

08-25-2011 07:02 PM in reply to: David_Stacey

I agree that it is zippier opening and closing files. But the cursor seems to be a little jerkier than 2011.  I'm still trying to turn off all the pop up, auto-tracking, auto tipping, heads-up, dynamic help get in my way stuff.    Also, for some reason, F3 doesn't turn Osnap on and off; and they changed the F8 ortho key to Command L.  I can get used to Command-L, but the F3 not working is driving me nuts. I also agree with Maxim,  to make a PDF, I just click Preview and then save it from the Preview app.  Seems to be equivalent quality to the Windows version PDFs in my office.   I agree with you that I am happy with my subscription.  As I see it, this is a major milestone for Autocad for Mac, as the original R12 Autocad for Mac died in R12.  This marks the first time that Autodesk has upgraded Autocad for Mac to the next release, and on the same schedule as the Windows version.  Way to go Autodesk!

 

--

Hawk

Active Member
AthensCAD
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-20-2012
Message 8 of 19 (2,001 Views)

Re: PDF output and AutoCAD for Mac 2012

07-20-2012 07:03 AM in reply to: David_Stacey

Can you please explain more about the pdf printer and its settings

 

I have AutoCAD for MAC 2013, I have CTB setup etc etc, no problems

 

my issue is that the pdf prints with thicker lines from the MAC than the PC

the same ctb file does not generate the same results on the two computers.

 

I am new to MAC so I am not sure about setting up the printer as you advise etc etc

if you could guide me through it I would really appreciate it.

 

Thanks

 

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,629
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 9 of 19 (1,999 Views)

Re: PDF output and AutoCAD for Mac 2012

07-20-2012 07:19 AM in reply to: AthensCAD

Hi,

 

Could you, please, post one sample drawing along with CTB file and PDF output results that you get from this file on Mac and on PC?

For the moment I'm aware of one problem (bug) with PDF output from AutoCAD on Mac (I do not mention the problems with different System printers installed on particular Mac, because I really did not test them all :smileywink:)

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Active Member
AthensCAD
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-20-2012
Message 10 of 19 (1,996 Views)

Re: PDF output and AutoCAD for Mac 2012

07-20-2012 08:18 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Hi,

Thanks for being so fast
Attached are the two pdfs from mac and pc - they are both using identical ctb with identical settings

 

you can see the difference....everything on mac gets 'fat'

 

Thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community