AutoCAD for Mac Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD for Mac Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD for Mac topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

My software won't accept inches

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
michellecuff
581 Views, 4 Replies

My software won't accept inches

Hi there,

I'm new to AutoCad for Mac and haven't used the (PC) software for about 20 years. I am trying to do something so simple -- an architectural floorplan of a powder room. I have my object snap on and want to just enter the number in inches to create the outside walls. When I just enter numbers, the numbers end up being dimensioned as feet, not inches. Example: I enter 33.25 and i get a line that is 33 feet 3 inches. If I try to enter it with the " at the end, I get a red box around the number and it won't accept it. 

I feel bad having to ask such an elementary question. I'm hoping this is just a setting that I screwed up. If anyone could guide me, I'd appreciate it. Thank you in advance.

Michelle

Tags (3)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
maxim_k
in reply to: michellecuff

Hi Michelle,

I think you have to setup your drawing to use Architectural or Engineering units:

From menu select Format -> Units... and set units in dialog box.

Screen Shot 2013-03-31 at 19.49.13.png

The Engineering and Architectural formats produce feet-and-inches displays and assume that each drawing unit represents one inch.

You also have to adjust dimension style to use Architectural or Engineering units.

Maxim

Do you find the posts helpful? "LIKE" these posts!
Have your question been answered successfully? Click 'ACCEPT SOLUTION' button.

Maxim Kanaev
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | Linkedin

Etiquette and Ground Rules of Autodesk Community
Message 3 of 5
michellecuff
in reply to: maxim_k