AutoCAD for Mac General

Reply
Member
lucasgrohl
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 1 of 7 (2,070 Views)

Error when opening AutoCAD 2011 for Mac

2070 Views, 6 Replies
08-22-2011 06:40 AM

Hi all,

 

I am using a MacBook and after installing AutoCAD 2011, when I try to open the programm I receive this message: 

 

"It is recommended the you save this drawing with a different name. The drawing file being opened was not created by a productfrom an Autodesk Education Suite.If you save this drawing, it will always be plotted with the following plot stamp. PRODUCED BY AN AUTODESK EDUCATIONAL PRODUCT"

 

Does anybody have a solution for this problem? 

 

I already tried to remove and reinstall it for at least 10 times! And this is also the very first time I am using it on Mac, thus, I got no "Drawing" made previously.

 

PS.: Already got the student Licence for AutoCAD 2011 for Mac and all the times I tried to reinstall it a message has been shown saying that AutoCAD is already licenced on my Mac.

 

Thanks in advance, and sorry for any English mistakes (this is not my first language). =)

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,629
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 7 (2,065 Views)

Re: Error when opening AutoCAD 2011 for Mac

08-22-2011 07:34 AM in reply to: lucasgrohl

Hi,

 

When you start AutoCAD it creates a new file, based on some template (acad.dwt as default), but I think that in fact Installation image for AutoCAD is the same for all versions - Trial, Student or Commercial. Thus the templates in Student version are the same as in Commercial and, of course they (templates and new drawings, based on these templates) are without Education Stamps. If you are using Student activation, then you automatically get this Stamp when you start AutoCAD and you get the massage about this fact from AutoCAD.

So. I think you should try to open every template, that you want to use and save it with Stamp. Since that time you will not get this message at AutoCAD startup.

Those are my thoughts.

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


New Member
lucas.c.rezende
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
Message 3 of 7 (2,061 Views)

Re: Error when opening AutoCAD 2011 for Mac

08-22-2011 07:41 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Hey Maxim,

 

I got what you said and I'll try it as soon as I find some other installation able of doing that. Just a few more questions...

 

Where do I find all of those templates on Mac? 

If I rename this "acad.dwt" is AutoCAD automatically looking for some other template?

If I open this "acad.dwt" in a functional AutoCAD, how can I put that Education Stamp for saving it?

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,629
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 4 of 7 (2,027 Views)

Re: Error when opening AutoCAD 2011 for Mac

08-23-2011 01:32 AM in reply to: lucas.c.rezende

lucas.c.rezende wrote:

 

Where do I find all of those templates on Mac? 

If I rename this "acad.dwt" is AutoCAD automatically looking for some other template?

If I open this "acad.dwt" in a functional AutoCAD, how can I put that Education Stamp for saving it?

 

Thanks!


Hi Lucas,
1. Path to Templates folder: ~/Library/Application Support/Autodesk/local/AutoCAD 2011/R18.1/enu/Template/
(Library folder in your home folder)
2. If you rename or delete acad.dwt from Template folder, AutoCAD will use defaults (i.e. - no template)
3. You can open and save template (.dwt) file the same way as ordinary .DWG file, just select "Drawing Template" from "File Format" list at the bottom of Select File dialog (OPEN command). As I think, if you save template in Educational version of AutoCAD, next time program will not ask you about Educational Stamp. Can not verify this, because I don't have Educational license.
Maxim



Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
lucasgrohl
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 5 of 7 (2,017 Views)

Re: Error when opening AutoCAD 2011 for Mac

08-23-2011 09:51 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Maxim,

 

I've installed AutoCAD 2011 on another computer, also an Educational Version, and now I am able to open the programm and its files.

 

How can I save a template as a Stamp after opening it using this new installation?

 

When I click over "Save" buttom I can't see any option about Stamp or anything else that could remind me of that.

 

If it's not too much, could you send me a step-by-step, as long as I am not used to AutoCAD?

 

Thanks in advance!

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,629
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 6 of 7 (2,012 Views)

Re: Error when opening AutoCAD 2011 for Mac

08-23-2011 10:43 AM in reply to: lucasgrohl
Just open template and save it (call SAVE command). Exit AutoCAD, then start it again, do you see alert about stamp?
Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Member
lucasgrohl
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-16-2011
Message 7 of 7 (2,008 Views)

Re: Error when opening AutoCAD 2011 for Mac

08-23-2011 11:19 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Maxim,

 

I did it and seemingly it worked, BUT, i found out another problem that I think this has no solution at all, at least for now...

 

Aparently AutoCAD 2011 for Mac doesn't work on Lion OS installed on a Mac with NVIDIA GeForce 320M, and that's is exactly my case! =(

 

It is a pity Autodesk hasn't fixed it yet... seems not to be extremely a hard labour for them to do it.

 

I think my only options is to use a Virtual Machine and put Windows (duh!) on it, or maybe a previous version of Mac OS.

 

Thanks a lot for your help and patience!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community