AutoCAD for Mac Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD for Mac Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD for Mac topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dog-Bone and T-Bone Fillets?

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
trilobyte
3533 Views, 4 Replies

Dog-Bone and T-Bone Fillets?

I'm sorry if this has been covered elsewhere, but in searching the forums, help files, and internet in general I seem to be having no luck.

I'm new to AutoCAD 2014 for Mac, but not new to 2D/3D design and designing for CNC.  In exploring AutoCAD and learning to use the Fillet command, I can't seem to figure out how to create a dog-bone or t-bone fillet.  These are the kinds of fillets very commonly used with designs for CNC machines (such as a ShopBot router), where the cutting tool has a larger-than-zero radius.

I'm trying to design a series of parts and components that will be cut via CNC tools and then fit together  (the attached render shows a few pieces fitting together) - in order to do that the slots need either dog-bones or t-bones in order to accommodate the part that will slide into it.  How can I do this in AutoCAD?

Thanks in advance, I really appreciate any help or pointers you could give me.

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
maxim_k
in reply to: trilobyte

Welcome to Autodesk Forums!

There is no such tool in AutoCAD, so you need to use some of 3D commands to create such fillets: for example - UNION. With this command you can union rectangle and circle shapes to create dog-bone fillets: you only need to place circle shape at the right position relative to rectangle corner. In order to use UNION command you need to convert rectangle and circle to regions or extruded 3D solids.
If you need only 2D objects you can use TRIM command after you place circle at right position to trim unnecessary parts.

Maxim

Do you find the posts helpful? "LIKE" these posts!