AutoCAD for Mac Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD for Mac Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD for Mac topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Boat modeling advise

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
nicnormal
457 Views, 7 Replies

Boat modeling advise

Bonjour

i'm new to Autocad (mac) and to CAD. My first project is a detailed 3d model of a french barge. I started with the hull. I first create a planar surface of one of the sides then i lofted the stern with arcs cross sections. I only have a lateral picture and i can't loft with ribs. 

My questions : 1) am i in the right direction (using surfaces) ? How can i merge the different surfaces? I tried to make the side shorter and to  use the blend surface tool. But there's no continuity.

Thank you very much for your help.

Nicolas

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
maxim_k
in reply to: nicnormal

Welcome to the Autodesk Forums!

I think you are in "one of the right directions" and blend works here just fine.

You can merge surfaces with UNION command (see #2 in attached drawing)

You can also convert surfaces to mesh (see #3) and close bottom "hole"

Maxim

Do you find the posts helpful? "LIKE" these posts!
Have your question been answered successfully? Click 'ACCEPT SOLUTION' button.

Maxim Kanaev
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | Linkedin

Etiquette and Ground Rules of Autodesk Community
Message 3 of 8
pendean

As a side note, if this is a career and not a hobby, I would consider more specialized software like http://www.ssi-corporate.com/product-services/autodesk or http://www.ssi-corporate.com/ which is Autodesk/AutoCAD based.
Or Autodesk Inventor.

Or go off the reservation with something like http://www.delftship.net/
Message 4 of 8
nicnormal
in reply to: maxim_k

Thank you very much Maxim for taking time to do my job (amazing)  and Dean for the links to  SSI (mind blowing pictures there)