AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
bastia
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-09-2011
Message 1 of 5 (375 Views)

Autocad for Mac dwg to pdf missing

375 Views, 4 Replies
12-03-2013 02:06 PM
 
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,910
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 2 of 5 (373 Views)

Re: Autocad for Mac dwg to pdf missing

12-03-2013 02:54 PM in reply to: bastia
AutoCAD version?
MAC OS you are using?
Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS
*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,692
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 3 of 5 (357 Views)

Re: Autocad for Mac dwg to pdf missing

12-03-2013 07:16 PM in reply to: bastia
>>>>Autocad for Mac dwg to pdf missing
What do you mean? You can not find a way to print/export to PDF from AutoCAD?

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Active Member
bastia
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-09-2011
Message 4 of 5 (345 Views)

Re: Autocad for Mac dwg to pdf missing

12-04-2013 04:39 AM in reply to: bastia

Hi

 

In autocad (any version) for windows there is a pc3 file named dwg to pdf.pc3. Using this one is usefull to preserve print settings from different pc units.

When a printer is configured on a pc it will be missing in another pc units.

Autocad for mac has not pc3 files!! Why??!!

 

thanks

 

Egidio

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,692
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 5 of 5 (341 Views)

Re: Autocad for Mac dwg to pdf missing

12-04-2013 05:45 AM in reply to: bastia

Hi Egidio,

 


bastia wrote:

Autocad for mac has not pc3 files!! Why??!!

 



It is "by design", because of the differences in printing system of Mac OS and Windows.

But in Mac OS you can use ANY printer and give it the name "DWG to PDF.pc3" (literally), then if on another Mac you have another physical printer but with the same name plus you have the same predefined or Custom paper sizes on another Mac - you will not have troubles with printing on both Macs.

Another thing is exchanging DWG between Mac and PC - if you will get DWG file with Page Setup with DWG to PDF.pc3 (and will have printer on your Mac with the same name) the only one thing you have to adjust is paper size. With another direction from Mac to PC - you will need to change printer name, but Windows can handle paper size even if it is not provided by current Windows printer driver, so you don't need to worry about paper size.

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community