AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
New Member
arq_uriegas
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-26-2011
Message 1 of 38 (5,161 Views)

Autocad 2014 Mac plot layout problems

5161 Views, 37 Replies
11-06-2013 02:26 PM

Hi!

Hope somebody can helpme with this. I just go updated to Mavericks and Autocad 2014, but I have a problem, I can't plot any layouts!

When I hit plot the print window opens, then i can choose printer and plot styles very well. But, when I choose print just doesn't work :smileysad: The window dissappear and nothing happens.

It's the same if I choose Open PDF in preview or save to PDF, just doesn't work.

Please help!

Many thank's!

 

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,673
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 2 of 38 (5,140 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Mac plot layout problems

11-06-2013 06:58 PM in reply to: arq_uriegas
Welcome to Autodesk Forums!

Hi,
What printer model do you have on your Mac? - Please look which printer model is active when you try to print or save to PDF?
I also want ask you to post here screenshot of Application tab of AutoCAD Preferences dialog with information about printing expanded, especially "Printer Support File Path" and "Print Spooler File Location".
It would be helpful to have Console output messages at the moment when you try to print (system.log)

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Active Member
bastia
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-09-2011
Message 3 of 38 (4,918 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Mac plot layout problems

12-03-2013 02:19 PM in reply to: arq_uriegas
Same problem!!!
It work only if sheet size is specified in print layout window. The sheet size value previously specified in page setup window is not recognize in print layout menu. So i have to set sheet size every time.
Printing in autocad for mac is very exhausting
*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,673
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 4 of 38 (4,908 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Mac plot layout problems

12-03-2013 06:23 PM in reply to: arq_uriegas
Welcome to Autodesk Forums!

Hi,
Could you answer the questions in my previous post about System printer?
Do you confirm you are using AC 2014 on Mavericks?
Do you create new Page Setup for Layout and give it a name in Page Setup dialog? Or you just edit the default page setup?

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Active Member
bastia
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-09-2011
Message 5 of 38 (4,890 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Mac plot layout problems

12-04-2013 04:52 AM in reply to: maxim_k
Hi,
i confirm autocad 2014 (trial version) and mavericks

the steps are the follows:

- i create a new layout
- then i select Edit Page Setup to set printer, page format etc..
- then i select Print Layout
- the paper size is set to custom (the previously setting of page size are missing)
and
- if i select preview or print button it doesn?t work
- if i set the missed paper size it start print or preview

thanks

egidio
*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,673
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 6 of 38 (4,887 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Mac plot layout problems

12-04-2013 05:20 AM in reply to: bastia

Hi Egidio,

 

Once again: do you have printer installed on your Mac? (System Preferences -> Print&Scan pane)

Which page format do you select when you edit page setup? If you select predefined page format (A4, Letter, B5, etc.) which page size you see when you select "Print layout"? What do you mean by "custom"?

Could you provide screenshots of Page Setup and Print dialogs?

Did you give your page setup some name (e.g. do you create new page setup in Page setup dialog with "+" button, or just edit the existing one)?

 

Maxim

 

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Active Member
bastia
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-09-2011
Message 7 of 38 (4,882 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Mac plot layout problems

12-04-2013 06:10 AM in reply to: maxim_k

hi Maxim

of course i have installed printers on my mac (Hp plotter device and Canon Laser device) and 

attached two screenshot to explain:

in the first one i set page setup settings (i didn't find any way to save these setting with a name)

in the second one previous setting are missing

 

I tried to save print settings by Page Setup Manager by clicking on (+) and give a new name, but i didn't find a way to recall it in my "Page Setup" or "Print Layout" 

 

thank you

 

egidio

 

 

 

 

1-Page_Setup.png

 

2-Print.png

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,673
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 8 of 38 (4,878 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Mac plot layout problems

12-04-2013 06:31 AM in reply to: bastia
Do you see on the second screenshot Page setup: <None>, I think that the problem is here.
It appears that you are printing from Model space (or I'm not right?)
After you created Page setup in Page Setup manager, you gave it the name "A2_rot_61cm" as I see, you need to set it current in first dialog of Page Setup manager, where you can see the list of all Page Setups. Use "gear" button to set "A2_rot_61cm" current, then you should be able to see all your settings when you call Print dialog.

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


Active Member
bastia
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-09-2011
Message 9 of 38 (4,878 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Mac plot layout problems

12-04-2013 06:34 AM in reply to: maxim_k

Hi,

maybe this screenshot can help to find a solution.

Error report, casually opened after batch printing, indicate tha PMP folder not Found.

thanks

 

Egidio

 

Print_Details_e_02-Grafici_rev_01.dwg.png

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,673
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 10 of 38 (4,874 Views)

Re: Autocad 2014 Mac plot layout problems

12-04-2013 07:16 AM in reply to: arq_uriegas
How do you create Custom Paper size? Could you provide step-by-step workflow?

Maxim
Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community