AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Member
amasoner
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-17-2012
Message 1 of 4 (477 Views)

AutoCAD LT freezes when "select color" is used

477 Views, 3 Replies
04-17-2012 09:27 AM

I am running AutoCAD LT 2012 for MAC.

 

Everytime I try to change the color of anything (be it a layer or line or block), AutoCAD freezes when I click "select color".  Once it freezes, clicking anywhere in the program results in an error sound effect.  I am still able to open menus on the menu bar at the top of the screen, but most of the options are greyed out, including "quit".

 

Any ideas on what might be causing this error and how I can fix it?

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,196
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 4 (476 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT freezes when "select color" is used

04-17-2012 09:37 AM in reply to: amasoner

Mac Forum:
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-for-Mac/bd-p/520

 

And let the Mac world know a little more about your system and where the files originated from.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
New Member
rogergibson
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-19-2012
Message 3 of 4 (425 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT freezes when "select color" is used

08-19-2012 12:43 PM in reply to: amasoner

AutoCADLT2012 Dell Lat 6520 Win7/64

I selected color background to White to merge some .pdf insets into a drawing. All worked fine.

Now, however, when I select Options (attempting to change color again) it locks the drawing (old ones, new ones - any Acad dwg I may try.  By Locks I mean I can't draw (no cursor) can't close or minimize drawing.  Nothing works.  I have to go to Task Manager and End Process to get out of it. 

 

It worked fine all week switching Colors and stuff back and forth - doing the same kind of drawings as usual.  Saturday it started locking up.

 

Now I can open another Acad dwg and it works fine - if I don't select Options.

Suggestion.  [can't reinstall 'cause I'm working off-site and original disc is 2000 miles away.]

 

Roger Gibson

Systems Engineer

Atlas Air Worldwide

*Expert Elite*
maxim_k
Posts: 3,673
Registered: ‎07-22-2010
Message 4 of 4 (420 Views)

Re: AutoCAD LT freezes when "select color" is used

08-19-2012 08:22 PM in reply to: amasoner

Hi amasoner,

 

Looks like "disappearing dialog box" issue.

Try to "Reset Application Options" from "Application" tab of AutoCAD Preferences:

 

Screen shot 2012-08-20 at 7.21.33.png

 

Maxim

Architect
MARSS

MacACAD | MARSS


You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community