AutoCAD for Mac General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
DanClark66
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-21-2010
Message 101 of 114 (2,429 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

02-12-2011 08:08 AM in reply to: d-web

D-Web asked:  "What version are you are running on your Macbook Pro?"

 

Product Version  E.49.H.62 

(This was the version I originally downloaded in Nov 2010. I keep getting a notice of an available update but I do not accept.)

 

My apologies for being so abrupt in my last email, its just with no reference to the earlier  poster, it appeared that you were speaking in a general sense.  I regret that so many of the messages on here have had problems. I really cannot answer why it worked for me except that I followed every detail of the download instructions to the letter. 

 

Unfortunately, my knowledge of this software is too limited to offer troubleshooting assistance to others.

Best of Luck to All.


New Member
rcmasla
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-24-2011
Message 102 of 114 (2,344 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

02-24-2011 09:33 AM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

i have a mac osx 10.5.8. when i tried downloading it, it seems to be downloading okay, but then i got a message saying my graphics card is not big enough. i am not a computer genius, i just want autocad on my computer so i can use it for my school projects. can someone help me out? 

New Member
valentinos.ilia
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-17-2011
Message 103 of 114 (2,194 Views)

AutoCAD 2011 for Mac disappointing

03-17-2011 08:02 PM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

Hello, I have been a Mac user for the last four years and AutoCad 2011 for Mac is most certainly one of the most disappointing professional programs ever released for Apple computers. I can surely understand that since it is the first version of the product it would be problematic but honestly nobody excepted such a failure; figures speak for them selves, I do not have to get into details. The reason I am writing is not to manipulate the company but I would  rather call for a better version of the software. Like many others said: "Design programs were the only reasons I was tied to a Windows Operative System, don't force me back to it"

Active Member
peterhku
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-10-2011
Message 104 of 114 (1,905 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

05-10-2011 12:50 PM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

Well I have a double problem. My mac is Imac8.1. 4GB. Good for any Adobe app, but Autodesk is getting me very annoyed. Today I lost a whole day crashing, updating and especially wating for ANY version of 2011 to move.

In bootcamp and XP is is NOT workable.

In OSX (latest) it is NOT workable.

I switched back to 2010 illegally for a try and something moved allright. De-installed it again, but the point has been proven. But as a student I HAVE to use 2011 and in both OS it is even heavier than Windows 7. For the record: I wil not buy new hardware, I can't afford it and specifically don't need it for anything else. Potential client lost I would say.
Autodesk should be able to sell stuff that works without a splash of new computer. I presume Autodesk outsourced 2011 development to some pakistani university for the freshmanyear? Could these guys cut the crap which makes this code so superheavy like Apple did with snowleopard? The program is absolutely not ready for sale. And I dare not try 2012. On to Vectorworks and Sketchup I think, this is as bad as it gets.

New Member
RicMont
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 105 of 114 (1,761 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

06-08-2011 04:51 PM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

hey guys im undertand all of that I have an iMac 11.1 whit core i7 , ati radeon 1gb and autocad just not run since a week ago and I cant have support anywhere sombody kows that problem ? in the facks page only says my computer is not supported 

 

New Member
RicMont
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
Message 106 of 114 (1,765 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

06-08-2011 04:52 PM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

is not a solution is a joke 

New Member
pharaonnoell
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-20-2011
Message 107 of 114 (1,345 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

09-20-2011 11:55 AM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

Hello,


I sak you some questions because my program doesn't work. I have an Macbook pro 5.5 ans i have os x lion (10.7.1) but my autoCAD 2011 for mac (and the 3 updates) doesnt'work...

 

What i have to do ? Chage to os x leopard or ...?

 

So, i hope i will have an solution... any one else.  (sorry for my bad english).

 

ps : i have memory : 2 Go 1067 MHz DDR3 and processor : 2,26 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 

New Member
sean
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-23-2011
Message 108 of 114 (1,175 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

10-23-2011 04:11 PM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

I am a potential new user of Autocad, and had hoped to do my class homework AT HOME on my macbook 1.1..... But now I have to get a newer Mac? I really would prefer and OLDER version of Autocad that works with this hardware.

Active Member
klphotos
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-18-2010
Message 109 of 114 (1,173 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

10-23-2011 04:37 PM in reply to: sean

There is not an older version for the Mac. I have one Mac that is listed as not supported and the program runs OK. It can be frustratingly slow at times and there still seems to be some sort of memeory leak.

 

Download the trial and see if will install and run.

 

If your class is based on a windows version, I would try and stay in a windows version when you work at home. There are alot of commands missing in the Mac version that are avaiable in the Windows version. Even the 2012 version has a long way to go to be as complete as the Windows version of 2012.

 

Good Luck

Kevin

Member
valeterra
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-23-2011
Message 110 of 114 (1,138 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

10-27-2011 12:25 PM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

Hi, why AutoCAD (2011 and 2012) don't run on my Mac OSx 10.7.2 Lion? It start but immediately crash...can someone helps me please?

About the 2011 i've even installed the 3 updates...

I have a MacBook Pro 2,2 and since i've installed Lion i can't work with my AutoCAD (Education version)

 

thank you

Valerio

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community