AutoCAD for Mac General

Reply
New Member
sheklun
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-13-2010
Message 71 of 114 (3,283 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

11-13-2010 06:12 AM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

I have the same problem with activistarchitect, he described his problems and struggles detailly.

 

no staff here can response to him??

 

I am using macbookpro 5,1

New Member
naplesdznr
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-15-2010
Message 72 of 114 (3,234 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

11-15-2010 10:41 AM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

I seem to be in the same boat as sheklun, pheyser, and activistarchitect. 

I have a MacBook Pro5.3 with an nVIDIA GeForce 9400M graphics card. I have updated OSX, Java, uninstalled/reinstalled, rebooted, repaired disk utility permissions, changed to 64 bit kernel.....

......and STILL all I get is the bouncing icon in the dock, the splash screen says loading and then everything quits.

What really stumps me is that it downloaded and opened seamlessly on my iMac7.1. Both are running the same version of OSX.

What am I missing? Any suggestions?

Contributor
pheyser
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎10-16-2010
Message 73 of 114 (3,220 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

11-15-2010 01:55 PM in reply to: sheklun

So my harddrive crashed the other day and had to re-installed Mac OS X. I had a time-machine backup but I figured I'd just go ahead and start from scratch.  I just downloaded AutoCAD again yesterday and installed it.  Managed to get it all the way through the activation.  It's working now.  I still don't know what the problem was.

Active Member
DanClark66
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-21-2010
Message 74 of 114 (3,106 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

11-21-2010 08:33 AM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

Thanks to all on this message board.

I have just purchased a MacBook Pro 13" model MC374LL/A.  

--mcb 7.1,

--2.4 GHz,

--4GB-RAM,

--250GB HD,

--OS X 10.6.5

 

I originally started downloading the trial version using the Download Manager, Akamai; however, after reading the posts here, I decided to stop the installation and I followed the link provided on here to "Uninstall Akamai". After succesfully uninstalling Akamai, I went back to the "Begin Free Product Trial Download" Page, but this time I chose the option:

 

GET THE TRIAL WITHOUT DOWNLOAD MANAGER.

 

It downloaded flawlessly. (Note: I had not enabled the 64 kernel option).

I was able to activate the trial software and it starts up fine on my computer.

By using the alternative Download option, I was able to keep Akamai OFF my computer.

 

My next step is to upgrade my system RAM from 4GB to the max 8GB.

 

Thank you to every contributor on this message board.:smileyhappy:

 

Active Member
activistarchitect
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-28-2010
Message 75 of 114 (3,090 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

11-21-2010 01:11 PM in reply to: DanClark66

I just did what DanClark66 did, and it didnt work. :smileysad:

 

Here's what I just did:

-uninstall akamai(by choosing it in the 'spotlight')

-uninstall autocad

-restart computer(for good luck!) NOT booting into the 64bit kernel

-install autocad from the DMG file that you can download.

same problem of splash screen hanging and then going blank.

still not sure what it is.

 

15" macbook pro unibody

intel corei7

2.66Ghz

8GB RAM

500MB HD

 

 

Macbook pro 2.66Mhz, Intel i7, bootcamp, Windows 7
Active Member
DanClark66
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-21-2010
Message 76 of 114 (3,070 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

11-22-2010 04:54 AM in reply to: activistarchitect

ActivistArchitect,

I noticed one of your posts back in October stated you were using OS X 10.6.4 at that time.

I had just updated to OS X 10.6.5 prior to downloading AutoCAD.

 

To uninstall Akamai, I followed the link provided by D-Web:

 

http://www.akamai.com/html/misc/akamai_client/dlmv3_faq.html

 

"Macintosh Uninstall
The simplest and preferred method is to use the Finder to go to the NetSession Interface installation folder, which is normally /Applications/Akamai/, then double-click the uninstaller app. Confirm your decision."

 

Good luck.

 

 

New Member
Robson_civil
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-29-2010
Message 77 of 114 (2,636 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

12-29-2010 12:27 PM in reply to: sheklun

Just to report my experience.  I am a student taking civil engineering and downloaded the student licence of AutoCAD for mac on my MacBook Pro 2.2  2.16GHz machine, with 3GB RAM, and initially had issues with glitchy graphics.  I was running OSX 10.5, so I uninstalled the software, and upgraded to 10.6.3 and reinstalled AutoCAD.  I have had no issues since (4 days)  but can't say that I've worked it very hard, or tried to plot anything.  But all signs point towards trouble free operation.  Again, this is a 3+ yr old 2nd gen MBP with 2.16 GHz core 2 duo  3GB RAM and OSX 10.6.3    perhaps not the fastest machine, but seems to be running the software okay. 

Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-28-2003
Message 78 of 114 (2,582 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

01-02-2011 01:51 PM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

I gotta tell ya - I'm PISSED....I was an ACAD GOLD beta site - for 4 months I devoted myself and all my projects to AutoCAD for MAC. And not without some fearful crashes, problems, etc.....then finally, the latest Sledgehammer release came out - I went through the de-install and installation and BOOM! Neither of my Macs (a MacPro 64 bit w/6Gb RAM or my MacBook Pro) were 'qualified' to have ACAD/MAC installed on them.....

So - I then bought a full version thinking that a release version would be more pliable - it was......and Iinstalled, and am running with few problems.

 

However the 1st Update is now out, and reading it carefully prior to downloading it I find the same CRAP! If I install, I won't be able to run.....how RIDICULOUS!

 

I have been an AutoCAD user since ver 1.4 - that's over 25 years of faithful loyalty.......and now, that finally, it is available for MAC, Autodesk raises the bar to a STUPID level.......I will continue to use the current install - as best I can.......when it is finally impossible to continue I'll abandon AutoCAD and move over to ArchiCAD - where such nonsense indifference does not exist.

 

RIDICULOUS! 

Member
andresw
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-19-2010
Message 79 of 114 (2,566 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

01-02-2011 05:23 PM in reply to: tom.stoeckel

Dear Tom

I have had several problems with AutoCad for Mac.

I've bought and installed in both my Mac Book Pro and my i Mac, and in both computers is unstable, crashes all the time. I can't work on it.

For example, yesterday I've tried to work in my iMac and I couldn't. It crashed at least 5 times in 10 minutes. Since I updated AutoCad it turned even more unstable.

Today I worked in my Mac Book Pro, and the problem was the same: In 10 minutes, it chrashed about 10 times, and all of them with no action related, I mean, I did nothing extraordinary... I was using the line command, or zoom command... 

Those were just a few examples, because this problem has been happening since I installed the program about 3 months ago.

I checked the system requirements and both computers are capable to work with AutoCad for Mac.

My MacBook Pro is a 5,4, has a 2.53 Intel Core 2 Duo Precessor, 4gb memory. I don't remember my iMac specs, but it has enough cap.

I've changed the system language (since I read that maybe this should work to fix the problem...)

The point is AutoCad is up to date, my Macs are almost new (macbook pro is 1 year, imac is 2 months old)

I'll appreciate if you can help me how can I fix this big problem. 

 

Andrew

New Member
KIrons
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
Message 80 of 114 (2,530 Views)

Re: AutoCAD 2011 for Mac system requirements

01-03-2011 09:12 AM in reply to: sheklun

In Response to Robson_civil,

 

That's great news!  I've got a MBP 2,2,  Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.33GHz machine, with 4GB RAM and still on a OSX 10.4.11.  Thinking about upgrading to 10.6.5 (it's definitely time) and testing out the trial version.  One question:  I've got the old ATI Radeon X1600 graphics card, what are you running?  Perhaps that should be updated as well. 

 

Thanks...I was reading through this thread and growing disheartened.

 

Just to report my experience.  I am a student taking civil engineering and downloaded the student licence of AutoCAD for mac on my MacBook Pro 2.2  2.16GHz machine, with 3GB RAM, and initially had issues with glitchy graphics.  I was running OSX 10.5, so I uninstalled the software, and upgraded to 10.6.3 and reinstalled AutoCAD.  I have had no issues since (4 days)  but can't say that I've worked it very hard, or tried to plot anything.  But all signs point towards trouble free operation.  Again, this is a 3+ yr old 2nd gen MBP with 2.16 GHz core 2 duo  3GB RAM and OSX 10.6.3    perhaps not the fastest machine, but seems to be running the software okay.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community