AutoCAD for Mac Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD for Mac Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD for Mac topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AutoCAD 2011 for MAc running very slowly

21 REPLIES 21
Message 1 of 22
drdekay
8059 Views, 21 Replies

AutoCAD 2011 for MAc running very slowly

I am new to AutoCAD. Just installed program today. I have a iMac model 11,1 intel core i7 with 8 GB memory, and the ATI Radeon HD 4850 graphics card (512 MB VRam). The program is running very slowly. It takes more than 30 seconds to just change views. Sometimes "Activity Monitor" will state that the AutoCAD program is "not responding". How do I configure the application to run faster. It is almost impossible to use as it is. I am using a 3 MB file .DWG from AutoCAD 2010 (Windows OS). 

21 REPLIES 21
Message 2 of 22
drdekay
in reply to: drdekay

Additional information. I am trying to manipulate (just the different views) a .DWG file which was created by the Windows version AutoCAD 2010,  and I constantly get the "beach ball" for sometimes a minute (usually give up and force quit). I have not created my own drawing yet. Are there sample drawings or tutorials with sample drawing I can check to see if it is the program or just this file. When I just have the initial startup screen I can manipulate the views normally w/o the "beach ball" of death. How should users of windows version of AutoCAD save their .DWG file to make them compatible as possible to the Mac version? Note: when I ope this Windows version . DWG I get warnings there are objects not supported by my AutoCAD appl. How should I handle this?

Maybe because I am very new to this application (AutoCAD For Mac) but I find this situation very very frustrating. I have the student version (cannot afford the standard) and a cannot seem to get started.

Message 3 of 22

Hello every body !!!