AutoCAD Structural Detailing General

Reply
Mentor
StefanoPasquini6790
Posts: 188
Registered: ‎07-06-2011
Message 1 of 16 (1,174 Views)
Accepted Solution

commitment of RAM

1174 Views, 15 Replies
06-07-2012 02:48 AM

Hello everyone,

 

anyone of you know why, with a simple 68 Mb file (see below)screenshot.JPG

 

I have a commitment of more than 3 GB of memory ... (see below)

memory.JPG

 

Any suggestions to reduce the amount of memory? thanks so much

 

SRP

PasProStudio
Structural + Detailing engineers
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 654
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 2 of 16 (1,171 Views)

Re: commitment of RAM

06-07-2012 04:37 AM in reply to: StefanoPasquini6790

Because with autoCAD, 64 MB is not a simple model.  On top of that because ASD uses custom objects, it stores more data in the file than vanilla AutoCAD would, so you can have more objects in a smaller file than if you were using plain AutoCAD objects.  To test this use the export to AutoCAD option.  

 

The video card has to work just as hard to display the shapes regardless of whether you're using AutoCAD solids or custom objects. 

 

Also, you're probably showing a bunch of nuts and bolts which are extremely memory intensive.  You'll probably see better performance if you freeze some of the object layers.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Active Member
lanzman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Message 3 of 16 (1,121 Views)

Re: commitment of RAM

06-26-2012 08:42 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe
I have the same problem with a 150MB large file. -my RAM memory is almost full (see picture 120626_PC RAM) -3D orbit does not work fluently at all! -changing in the top view (front view - side view) takes too much time -there is no workflow -when drawings are generated, it takes up to 10 minutes or longer (for a total overview) it annoys to work in this way. PC System: Windows 7 Professional 64 bit Intel Xenon CPU X3470 @2,93GHZ 8 GB RAM Video card Nvidia Quadro 600 & for a test also a Nvidia GeForce GTX550 Where is the problem? Are there any other possibilities to increase the performance? What can i do?
Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 4 of 16 (1,094 Views)

Re: commitment of RAM

06-27-2012 04:55 AM in reply to: lanzman

Autocad becomes lazy when Drawings are generated. I see 2 possible solutions for a "smoother" experience

 

1) Split the project in multiple projects (there is this option)

2) From model create separate files with each drawing. (the downside is that if you make a modification, it will not be reflected in previously created files.

*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 654
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 5 of 16 (1,091 Views)

Re: commitment of RAM

06-27-2012 05:14 AM in reply to: CristianLANCULESCU1367

A lot of people use Xref's to manage large files, it works pretty well.  You may have to break up structural model along member type + level.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Active Member
lanzman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Message 6 of 16 (1,089 Views)

Re: commitment of RAM

06-27-2012 05:37 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe
Thank you guys for the suggestions, but in this case i dont want to split it because its a "not so big room" and i must work simtimes here and sometimes in that corner, and i think it disrupts the work flow. for me its just disappointing that the program or the computer that is designed for big steel structures its not in a position to handle this data volume.... but if i would increase the computer hardware performance, i mean 16 or 32GB RAM and A Nvidia Quadro 6000 with 6GB memory size or something similar... Could that be a possible solution?
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 654
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 7 of 16 (1,087 Views)

Re: commitment of RAM

06-27-2012 06:11 AM in reply to: lanzman

See, that's the thing.  The program isn't designed for big steel structures.  Any program built on top of AutoCAD currently is not designed for BIG.  You can always spend more money, there just comes a point where the money spent is less than the gain received.  Only you can justify how much to spend.

 

Your RAM and video card are a bit weak.  I got with a Nvidia Quadro 2000 at least (1 GB of RAM on the card), bump up your RAM on your computer to 16 GB and you should see a decent performance boost between the two.  I wouldn't spend much more than that.

 

Here's some reviews by Cadalyst:

Quadro 2000

http://www.cadalyst.com/hardware/graphics-cards/setting-a-cad-speed-record-14292?page_id=1

Quadro 5000

http://www.cadalyst.com/hardware/graphics-cards/nvidia-quadro-5000-13397

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Active Member
lanzman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-04-2012
Message 8 of 16 (1,084 Views)

Re: commitment of RAM

06-27-2012 09:02 AM in reply to: dave.wolfe
OK, thanks for the information. If I get the money I'll try it, I will inform you how it affects. by the way, only of interest: which program is then suitable for large steel structures?
*Expert Elite*
dave.wolfe
Posts: 654
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Message 9 of 16 (1,082 Views)

Re: commitment of RAM

06-27-2012 09:13 AM in reply to: lanzman

If you're trying to visualize everything at one time, Revit has better performance than AutoCAD. ASD works, but you have to be willing to using xref's...like most people do with 3D inside of AutoCAD.  Even Revit will have its limits.

Dave Wolfe
Isaiah 57:15

ECAD, Inc.
Tips and Tricks on our blog: Process Design, from the Outside

A P3D Authorized Reseller
Valued Mentor
Rich.O.3d
Posts: 519
Registered: ‎08-19-2008
Message 10 of 16 (983 Views)

Re: commitment of RAM

09-20-2012 06:49 PM in reply to: dave.wolfe

ditto about the Graphics card and ram

the quadro5000 goes very well but the 2000 should do the job, id love a 6000...maybe if I win the lotto.

we split xrefs into :

floors

columns

vert bracing

hor bracing

stairs

etc

 

CAD Management 101:
You can do it your own way,
If its done just how I say!
[Metallica:And Justice For All:1988]

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community