AutoCAD Structural Detailing General

Reply
Mentor
andrea.pontiggia
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-29-2012
Message 1 of 15 (445 Views)

Weight of the structure

445 Views, 14 Replies
09-09-2013 03:08 AM

If you use this command

 

Cat1.JPG

 

to know the weight of the structure I get a value lower than what you see by creating tables with the quantities of steel.

Cattura.JPG

 

Why does this happen?

 

Thanks.

Andrea
Mentor
zcsillag
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎02-01-2008
Message 2 of 15 (424 Views)

Re: Weight of the structure

09-09-2013 10:43 AM in reply to: andrea.pontiggia

Yes :smileyfrustrated:

 

Command: _RBCS_inq_group Command: RBCS_inq Choose tool [Element/Group/Assembly/Model/cOg/Connection]<Group>:Group Pick element:      Group name: Elszivo        Position: Elszivo      Multiplier: 1 Number of parts: 393      Total mass: 2534 kg

Paint area: 74.65 sq. m. Length: 5070     Width: 4065       Height: 5359

Command: Command: Command: _RBCS_inq_msize Command: RBCS_inq Choose tool [Element/Group/Assembly/Model/cOg/Connection]<Group>:Model Select elements or [ALL]:smileyfrustrated:pecify opposite corner: 433 found

Select elements or [ALL]:

 Number of parts: 253         Profiles: 57           Plates: 186       User parts: 10            Bolts: 140       Assemblies: 35           Groups: 1      Connections: 105

Total paint area: 74.65 sq. m.      

Total mass: 2510 kg

Regards
Csillag Zoltán
Mentor
andrea.pontiggia
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-29-2012
Message 3 of 15 (414 Views)

Re: Weight of the structure

09-10-2013 12:10 AM in reply to: zcsillag
so it is a bug in the program ...?
Andrea
Active Contributor
Kamikon-LK
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-17-2011
Message 4 of 15 (403 Views)

Re: Weight of the structure

09-10-2013 08:20 AM in reply to: andrea.pontiggia

Try untick "gross weight - plates"
gross_weight_-_plates.png

Mentor
andrea.pontiggia
Posts: 177
Registered: ‎01-29-2012
Message 5 of 15 (399 Views)

Re: Weight of the structure

09-10-2013 09:04 AM in reply to: Kamikon-LK

I had already tried. In reality, ASD provides a quantity of steel less than tables.

I also discovered something else, in my model I have profiles cut in half.

ASD considered in the tables (maybe a bug) profile split in half as a whole.

Can someone test this?

 

Thanks

Andrea
Mentor
zcsillag
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎02-01-2008
Message 6 of 15 (396 Views)

Re: Weight of the structure

09-10-2013 09:48 AM in reply to: andrea.pontiggia

Yess it's BUGG !!!

 

p1 and p2 profile same mass, but p1 cut by polyline :smileyfrustrated:

 

mass bugg.JPG

Regards
Csillag Zoltán
Active Contributor
Kamikon-LK
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-17-2011
Message 7 of 15 (391 Views)

Re: Weight of the structure

09-10-2013 10:19 AM in reply to: zcsillag

I think it is not a bug. In table You have gross weight of profile, and this is right value for fabricator. (To make cut element, you need a profile steel with a weight of whole element).

In window, that I showed in my last post, there should be a second option: "gross weight - profiles" - when this option would be unticked, weight in table = weight of whole structure.

 

Mentor
zcsillag
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎02-01-2008
Message 8 of 15 (387 Views)

Re: Weight of the structure

09-10-2013 10:39 AM in reply to: Kamikon-LK

OK, and what ur answer for included below ?

 

made castellated beam with macro and u have in table 2xIPE mass :smileytongue:

 

Good luck !

castell_3d.JPGcastellated.JPGcastell_ipe.JPGcastell_ipe mass.JPG

Regards
Csillag Zoltán
Mentor
zcsillag
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎02-01-2008
Message 9 of 15 (382 Views)

Re: Weight of the structure

09-10-2013 10:46 AM in reply to: Kamikon-LK

... " and this is right value for fabricator "  ???

Regards
Csillag Zoltán
Active Contributor
Kamikon-LK
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎07-17-2011
Message 10 of 15 (377 Views)

Re: Weight of the structure

09-10-2013 10:52 AM in reply to: zcsillag

:smileysurprised: Nice example... This shown that we need "gross weight - profile" option too, not only for plates.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community