AutoCAD Structural Detailing General

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-28-2012
Message 1 of 6 (1,048 Views)

Structural Detailing to Revit

1048 Views, 5 Replies
06-28-2012 12:35 PM

How do I link my Structural Detailing AutoCAD to Revit and link them so as the cad file changes it up dates in Revit?

 

What I would really like to do is export Revit to AutoCAD Structural detailing. Then detail the connections and reload back into Revit.

Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 2 of 6 (1,017 Views)

Re: Structural Detailing to Revit

07-03-2012 12:44 AM in reply to: Rick

First of all, Revit doesn't import ASD detaills. 

Second: The only workflow that really worked for me was:

 

Create structure in Revit -> Analyze it in Robot -> Update Revit ->Send to ASD -> Plot.

 

Revit has 2 types of connections in "Extensions":"Beam to column" and "Column end", while ASD has more then 30.

 

Regards.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 3 of 6 (1,006 Views)

Re: Structural Detailing to Revit

07-03-2012 09:44 AM in reply to: CristianLANCULESCU1367

Cristian, you have worked with SDS/2 connections?

Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 4 of 6 (997 Views)

Re: Structural Detailing to Revit

07-04-2012 01:25 AM in reply to: jorgeluisgdeaca

Hi Jorge,

 

I had an attempt, bu it didn't work in the first place. After that the trial has expired and I had to uninstall it. Anyway I'm receiving emails from them on a regular basis.  :smileyhappy:

 

OPINION:  FOR THE MOMENT I dont think I will buy it because:

 

1) Revit is not very precise for steel

2) I'm not an expert in Revit Structure

3) The SDS/2 is at the beginning

4) It doesn't have localized version (Romania).

 

My workflow is like this:

I make the model in Revit, compute it in Robot, make some schematic drawings (I don't know the english terminology, but they are plans in which I show the placement of columns, beams, foundations) and then send it to ASD for detailing and shop drawing.

Latelly I use Revit a lot, but i've started only 3 years ago...

 

The Revit Structure Suite also contains ASD. What I like is:

 

1) It has some macros (enough for regular buildings)

2) It is based on AutoCad plaform (I have more experience with it)

3) Positioning of elements and automatic drawings and annotations.

 

I will not place here the inconveniences of ASD.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 5 of 6 (991 Views)

Re: Structural Detailing to Revit

07-04-2012 06:27 AM in reply to: CristianLANCULESCU1367

sure, I'm not an expert  using Revit too, only I want to know HOW accurately and flexible can be with steel structures, for this it's one step back to other specifics programs, but I believe this is the bussines of Revit, is an non specific program.

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 6 of 6 (978 Views)

Re: Structural Detailing to Revit

07-05-2012 12:25 AM in reply to: jorgeluisgdeaca

Revit is very flexible with steel, but not very accurate. At least not now.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community