AutoCAD Structural Detailing General

Reply
Active Member
gianghiem
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 1 of 16 (646 Views)

Convert connection in ASD to RSA?

646 Views, 15 Replies
11-16-2012 07:58 PM

I'm drawing a frame sructure on ASD (Autocad Structual Detailing). I linked the fame to Robot Structual Analysis. However, connection of the frame on ASD didn't convert to RSA (see attached). Please show me how resolve it?ASDRSA

Active Member
gianghiem
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 2 of 16 (622 Views)

Re: Convert connection in ASD to RSA?

11-19-2012 12:16 AM in reply to: gianghiem

Nobody helps me?

Product Support
Jakub.Brozonowicz
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎12-13-2010
Message 3 of 16 (614 Views)

Re: Convert connection in ASD to RSA?

11-19-2012 02:51 AM in reply to: gianghiem

Unfortunately, thre is nothing to help with in such functionality.

Connections are migrated in backward model transfer, fron RSA to ASD.

It is just because the most common workflow was from calculation and code design model to drafting one.

Opposite workflow was not developed in such way.

---------------------------------------------
If this post answer your question please click "Accept as Solution". It will help everyone to find answer more quickly!

 



Jakub Brożonowicz
Valued Contributor
lucis29
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 4 of 16 (605 Views)

Re: Convert connection in ASD to RSA?

11-19-2012 04:27 AM in reply to: Jakub.Brozonowicz

One more thing. In RSA you can't add the second Stiffner (the one from the Beam's lower flange), so the Connection is not Exactly the same.

 

Plus what Jakub said....

Product Support
Jakub.Brozonowicz
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎12-13-2010
Message 5 of 16 (584 Views)

Re: Convert connection in ASD to RSA?

11-20-2012 02:13 AM in reply to: lucis29

Truly said, in case of this kind of connection with brackets, this stiffener is not so important for connection strength.

 



Jakub Brożonowicz
Valued Contributor
lucis29
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 6 of 16 (577 Views)

Re: Convert connection in ASD to RSA?

11-20-2012 03:48 AM in reply to: Jakub.Brozonowicz

I have a different opinion. When Robot calculates the connection accordin to EC3,  the Shear Panel relations take in consideration the distance between stiffners.

So if you have a stiffner in the middle of the Column Web that connects the flanges, the Aria to be taken in consideration is half.

 

Am I missing something?

 

Regards.

 

Lucian Iacob.

 

P.S.: Jakub vs Iacob :smileyhappy:

Product Support
Jakub.Brozonowicz
Posts: 317
Registered: ‎12-13-2010
Message 7 of 16 (573 Views)

Re: Convert connection in ASD to RSA?

11-20-2012 04:12 AM in reply to: lucis29

Isn't it max distance?



Jakub Brożonowicz
Valued Contributor
lucis29
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎03-04-2010
Message 8 of 16 (568 Views)

Re: Convert connection in ASD to RSA?

11-20-2012 04:57 AM in reply to: Jakub.Brozonowicz

I know a formula that says:

t.w=>(d.p+h.ws)/90

 

t.w= is the thickness of the column web (and additional plates)

d.p= the distance between the stiffners

h.ws= the height of the columns web.

 

Also you can check a connection in Robot that doesn't satisfies the code : "Web panel - shear". Add an inclined stiffner (this option exists) and usually it solves the problem.

 

I've atached a picture from EC3 part 8.

 

Lucian.

Active Member
gianghiem
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 9 of 16 (548 Views)

Re: Convert connection in ASD to RSA?

11-20-2012 08:16 PM in reply to: gianghiem

I have other question. When I calculate deformation of beam HP14x117 with same boundary conditions (The lenght of beam is 4m. On head of beam is fixed and other is pinned. Pressure is 10kN/m)on Inventor (without stiffeners and with stiffeners) and RSA after that they have different results as follows:

1. On Inventor without stiffeners: max deformation is 0.1452mm

 

Inventor - HP14x117 No Stiffener.jpg

 

2. On Inventor with stiffeners: Max deformation is 0.2078mm (I wonder why has the result?)

 

Inventor - HP14x117 Have Stiffener.jpg

 

3. On RSA without stiffeners: Max deformation is 0.136mm

 

RSA - HP14X117.jpg

 

Please show me why have the different results?

Link of calculated file: http://www.mediafire.com/?pm3vqbfdaul1z0l

Active Member
gianghiem
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 10 of 16 (543 Views)

Re: Convert connection in ASD to RSA?

11-20-2012 09:29 PM in reply to: gianghiem

One more question:

I have frame on ASD (see picture and attached file)

On ASD

 

When I link the file to RSA, have some issue as follows:

1. Purlins convert to beam and rigid link. Is it suitable? How can do it? which situation can apply rigid link like that?

 

Rigid link

 

2. Connection of bracing to colunm is disappeared 

 

Connection of bracing to column is disappeared

 

3. When I calculate the frame, RSA has note hereafter:

 

Instability

 

Please tell me how resolve them? Thank all you so much.

Link of calculated files: http://www.mediafire.com/?lsr8vzxmjs4kep4

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community