AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

AutoCAD Structural Detailing General DIscussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Jianna
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-21-2012
Message 1 of 5 (390 Views)

ASD keeping nonexistent parts in dimension drawing

390 Views, 4 Replies
07-09-2013 05:37 AM

In the attached screenshot you can see two dimension drawings. They're both documents attached to bb355A.

 

The top beam is bb355A_Drawing top view. The lower beam is bb355A_Drawing (1) top view.

The problem is that the plates pd355 are clearly different. The top plate is incorrect and does not exist in my 3D model.

 

All of my documents and printouts are up to date. I've tried regen, refresh_all_printouts, and refreshalldoc commands.

 

Unfortunately, the incorrect version was on the fabrication drawing and made it into the shop. This can't happen. The 3D modeling is supposed to fix the need to check every single dimension every time. If ASD is going to be popping in random incorrect pieces, we might as well go back to 2D modeling.

Does anyone know another refresh/regen command I could try? Or does anyone know why it might be sticking this plate in there when it doesn't exist anywhere in the drawing?

 

Thanks.

Mentor
zcsillag
Posts: 246
Registered: ‎02-01-2008
Message 2 of 5 (376 Views)

Re: ASD keeping nonexistent parts in dimension drawing

07-09-2013 09:45 AM in reply to: Jianna

Can you upload model ?

This never happened to me.

 

Regards

Csillag Z.

Regards
Csillag Zoltán
Valued Contributor
Jianna
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-21-2012
Message 3 of 5 (353 Views)

Re: ASD keeping nonexistent parts in dimension drawing

07-10-2013 05:09 AM in reply to: zcsillag

Here is the file. If you have any other questions, let me know.

 

I really appreciate any insight you can give. Thank you.

Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 4 of 5 (325 Views)

Re: ASD keeping nonexistent parts in dimension drawing

07-11-2013 11:11 PM in reply to: Jianna
I see no problem in your drawing.
The plate pd355 does exist in the drawing. I'v deleted it from the model, updated the drawings and everything was fine.
Valued Contributor
Jianna
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎04-21-2012
Message 5 of 5 (311 Views)

Re: ASD keeping nonexistent parts in dimension drawing

07-12-2013 04:20 AM in reply to: CristianLANCULESCU1367

I'm not sure I understand you. In the model I uploaded, there were (4) pd355. And, of the two documents attached to pd355A (which should show identical parts), one of the plates was wrong even though the documents had been updated.

An obvious fix (once the issue was noticed) would be to delete the plates and redo them. However, fixing it later is not the issue. The issue is that even though all of my documents were updated, an incorrect dimension went to the shop because the dimension drawing didn't show the correct plate and did not show an accurate version of my current 3D model.

 

If I'm misunderstanding your meaning, let me know.

 

Autodesk sent me an email, though, to say they're looking into it. It's been reported as a bug and they'll let me know if they find anything.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community