AutoCAD Structural Detailing General

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
markhubrich
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 1 of 11 (890 Views)
Accepted Solution

ASD 2014 Layout Tabs Hotfix cause fatal error crash

890 Views, 10 Replies
07-02-2013 05:45 AM

The hotfix appeared to work at first when opening a multi layout affected file. 

 

Now every time I try to activate a drawings edition detail, it fatal error crashes me. Also while I sit here and type this, my ASD 2014 seems to be loading endlessly and it never loads. 

 

I am completely dead in the water now. 

Distinguished Contributor
markhubrich
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 2 of 11 (881 Views)

Re: ASD 2014 Layout Tabs Hotfix cause fatal error crash

07-02-2013 06:01 AM in reply to: markhubrich

Cannot open ASD2014. Performing reinstall.

Distinguished Contributor
markhubrich
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 3 of 11 (859 Views)

Re: ASD 2014 Layout Tabs Hotfix cause fatal error crash

07-02-2013 06:46 AM in reply to: markhubrich

I re-installed ASD and re-applied the hotfix. This is where I stand now...

 

http://www.screencast.com/t/CccoE5BsHmCs

 

The above is when I try to delete. Same results happen also when trying to activate the detail.

Distinguished Contributor
markhubrich
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 4 of 11 (852 Views)

Re: ASD 2014 Layout Tabs Hotfix cause fatal error crash

07-02-2013 06:56 AM in reply to: markhubrich

Cannot attach document either...

 

http://www.screencast.com/t/8by916iwgIWa

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 5 of 11 (848 Views)

Re: ASD 2014 Layout Tabs Hotfix cause fatal error crash

07-02-2013 07:15 AM in reply to: markhubrich

Mark, can you share the file with us? I've tried all the steps in one of my drawing, and it doesn't happen.

Distinguished Contributor
markhubrich
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 6 of 11 (843 Views)

Re: ASD 2014 Layout Tabs Hotfix cause fatal error crash

07-02-2013 07:24 AM in reply to: CristianLANCULESCU1367

I wouldn't mind if you have a place to upload it. It's currently 35mb.

 

Here is latest attempt..

http://www.screencast.com/t/vEdfu7cX

 

I am going to try creating a new file to see if it's linked to my file or my ASD.

Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 7 of 11 (836 Views)

Re: ASD 2014 Layout Tabs Hotfix cause fatal error crash

07-02-2013 07:37 AM in reply to: markhubrich

Try a megaupload or filefactory.

Distinguished Contributor
markhubrich
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 8 of 11 (831 Views)

Re: ASD 2014 Layout Tabs Hotfix cause fatal error crash

07-02-2013 07:44 AM in reply to: CristianLANCULESCU1367

I just went through again step by step exactly what the hotfix says. I created a new file and added a column with beam connection. 

 

It is not tied to my file. I get the same results with a brand new file.

 

My install of ASD is not in the standard location in Program Files. I have it installed on an SSD striped RAID of its own.

 

That wouldn't have anything to do with it?

 

I also noticed the RbctDrawingMngr.arx file exists in both the Autocad 2014 and the ASD folder.

 

Should this be replaced in both locations? I only replaced the one as called for in the hotfix directions  

Distinguished Contributor
CristianLANCULESCU1367
Posts: 103
Registered: ‎11-02-2011
Message 9 of 11 (825 Views)

Re: ASD 2014 Layout Tabs Hotfix cause fatal error crash

07-02-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: markhubrich

I followed the ASD description in hotfix and works Ok.

ASD is installed in his default directory, SSD, no RAID.

 

Windows 7 x64.

Distinguished Contributor
markhubrich
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 10 of 11 (816 Views)

Re: ASD 2014 Layout Tabs Hotfix cause fatal error crash

07-02-2013 07:58 AM in reply to: CristianLANCULESCU1367

That did it. It sure didn't like having that file in the root autocad 2014 folder. I renamed it and it seems to be ok at the moment. 

 

I'll try working a bit more..

 

I must have put the file in the incorrect location at first and the reinstall I did left it there anyhow. 

 

Sorry guys I think I caused my own error here. :smileyindifferent:  I'm being poked at from every direction to wrap this up and my head is spinning to get it done.

 

Thanks for all your concern, I have my hopes that I can complete this journey. :smileyembarrassed:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community