AutoCAD Structural Detailing General

Reply
Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 1 of 5 (539 Views)

ASD 2013 - Producing a Plan View (General Arrangment) Layout

539 Views, 4 Replies
09-25-2012 11:14 AM

What is the procedure for developing a Plan View, with text and dimensions and titles?

Valued Contributor
tedmail
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎04-26-2011
Message 2 of 5 (535 Views)

Re: ASD 2013 - Producing a Plan View (General Arrangment) Layout

09-25-2012 12:09 PM in reply to: csammons

That's like asking how to use a computer.  A bit too vague of a question.  You first need to create your model if you want automatic drawings to create a "plan view".  If you are asking about a general view, they have what is called a schematic, I beleive.  You can create a top view of any part, group or assembly, however.  Or you can draw out a plan in model space with lines and print that like the old days.

 

We could offer more help if I knew what stage you were at and where you wanted to end up.

Active Member
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 3 of 5 (531 Views)

Re: ASD 2013 - Producing a Plan View (General Arrangment) Layout

09-25-2012 01:09 PM in reply to: tedmail

My aplogies if I was not making myself clear. I have generated a model, a steel pipe support bridge. I am able to generate shop drawings. I want to create an overall Plan View, with the visible beams and columns labeled. As of now, I can create the plan view using mviews, but I have to place the labels and dimensions in paper space. I wish to use the templates to create a Plan View general arrangement layout.

Valued Contributor
tedmail
Posts: 86
Registered: ‎04-26-2011
Message 4 of 5 (528 Views)

Re: ASD 2013 - Producing a Plan View (General Arrangment) Layout

09-25-2012 01:14 PM in reply to: csammons

You are after the schematic type drawing template.

Valued Contributor
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 5 of 5 (523 Views)

Re: ASD 2013 - Producing a Plan View (General Arrangment) Layout

09-25-2012 02:22 PM in reply to: csammons

just creating a group, then insert it as block into your layout.

See below the attached.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Structural Detailing Category!

The AutoCAD Structural Detailing forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community