AutoCAD Raster Design General Discussion

Reply
Member
SteveinBrandon
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
Message 1 of 7 (1,437 Views)

Degrading Image in Raster Design 2011

1437 Views, 6 Replies
06-16-2011 02:53 PM

Experienced with AutoCAD but new to Raster Design. I have been attempting to edit a small 400kb uncompressed bitonal TIFF image that was scanned at 300 DPI. I am aligning the image to vector, cropping and combining with another image of the same size. As I work through this process the image has gradually become darker and the "noise" pixels are getting larger than 1 pixel. It is getting bad enough that some text that once was readable is no longer. I have not been able to find any settings that may affect this and am at a loss as to why this is happening. I have suspended using the software until I can determine a solution for fear of destroying a scanned image that cannot be replaced. Any help or suggestion would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

Valued Mentor
parkr4st
Posts: 418
Registered: ‎03-24-2004
Message 2 of 7 (1,410 Views)

Re: Degrading Image in Raster Design 2011

06-24-2011 08:10 AM in reply to: SteveinBrandon

#1  backup the original so you can always start over        # 2 backup the  backup

 

did you try the despeckle cleanup tool? 

 

dave

New Member
jimhassler3020
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-10-2012
Message 3 of 7 (1,255 Views)

Re: Degrading Image in Raster Design 2011

01-10-2012 12:36 PM in reply to: SteveinBrandon

Steve we are a CAD shop in the NE, USA and have noticed the same issue with RD 2012 and also with 2011. So we went further and have discoverd that the change apparently was from 2010 to 2011. We can get the proper results on 2010 while with the same file in 2011 or 2012 we also get the added pixels. I have also submitted a tech support request to ACAD just today. so we'll wait and see.

It doesn't really want to make you keep current on software does it??

 

Jim

Member
SteveinBrandon
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
Message 4 of 7 (1,189 Views)

Re: Degrading Image in Raster Design 2011

03-15-2012 11:20 AM in reply to: SteveinBrandon

Jim, did Autodesk ever get back to you? It is disappointing to learn that they had it right at one point only to make adjustments in the software that causes such degredation in the image that they become unusable. My old Paintshop Pro 4 does a better job handling this than RD 2011, or 2012 from what you have experienced. Unfortunately, I do not have the time or resources to check the various types of images and pixel densities to test the next version before I put it into production. Time may be better spent investigating software that will convert the images to vector and not bother with subscription renewals for RD. I've tried one but the resulting DWG was too large to be practical.

Distinguished Contributor
O.Maille
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎10-23-2007
Message 5 of 7 (1,148 Views)

Re: Degrading Image in Raster Design 2011

04-25-2012 07:06 AM in reply to: SteveinBrandon

Download GIMP - free picture editing tool and edit you scan until you have the two layers you need (background & foreground) the select the background layer using the selection tools (by colour or contigous region) invert the selection and the fill the selection in black. The fact raster design only really works on bitonal images makes it fairly useless except for adding coordinates to tifs

Distinguished Contributor
snakerancher
Posts: 212
Registered: ‎02-14-2008
Message 6 of 7 (1,146 Views)

Re: Degrading Image in Raster Design 2011

04-25-2012 08:41 AM in reply to: SteveinBrandon

We contacted Autodesk about this issue and their reply was............ wait for it

 

Use AutoCAD 2010.  Really?? Really? We paid for 2011 and 2012 and you say to use 2010?

 

Thanks, remind me where our subscription dollars are going?

Distinguished Contributor
O.Maille
Posts: 200
Registered: ‎10-23-2007
Message 7 of 7 (1,144 Views)

Re: Degrading Image in Raster Design 2011

04-25-2012 08:42 AM in reply to: snakerancher

"Thanks, remind me where our subscription dollars are going"

 

The ability to download 2010? :manwink:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

New AutoCAD Raster Design Category!

The AutoCAD Raster Design forum has moved into it's very own category page, and can no longer be found within the Additional Product Forums.

Ask the Community