AutoCAD R12/R13/R14 Archive

Reply
*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,218
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 11 of 18 (601 Views)

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-08-2012 02:54 PM in reply to: RyoHazuki89

Read the label

Active Member
RyoHazuki89
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
Message 12 of 18 (595 Views)

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-08-2012 04:41 PM in reply to: Patchy

The ones I have are old copies. All I have is a legit serial #. Is there a difference in the interface between the DOS and Windows version? I know my dad used to run it on Windows 3.1. The mouse works in the DOS version, right? *scratches head*

*Expert Elite*
Patchy
Posts: 6,218
Registered: ‎09-16-2009
Message 13 of 18 (584 Views)

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-08-2012 07:22 PM in reply to: RyoHazuki89

Yes the mouse works with DOS, a problem I had with setting up r12 was the video driver, without the instructions I can't remember what the command was.

Maybe it's in the readme.txt after installed.

Valued Contributor
mmelechinsky
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎03-26-2004
Message 14 of 18 (580 Views)

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-09-2012 02:45 AM in reply to: RyoHazuki89

This seems way more complicated than it needs to be.

 

I have Release 11 on several 5.25" floppies and they are plainly labeled with the words "DOS 386".  I also have another set of disks, same size, still in their shrink wrap, labeled "Release 11 c2 Extension for Windows".  Aren't your disks labeled? 

Active Member
RyoHazuki89
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
Message 15 of 18 (572 Views)

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-09-2012 02:01 PM in reply to: Patchy

Nope. Like I said they are copies of the original R12 discs.

 

Will Autocad provide me a new set of R12 disks if I provide them our serial #? It is a legit serial # and it should bring up his name/company name behind it if they sill keep a database for that sort of thing...

Valued Contributor
mmelechinsky
Posts: 63
Registered: ‎03-26-2004
Message 16 of 18 (557 Views)

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-10-2012 02:34 AM in reply to: Patchy

No.  AutoDesk will not provide you with new disks.  R12 like so many other versions is no longer supported.

 

Why not just take the plunge and try installing what you have?  In the time it took to have this entire conversation you would have had an answer.

 

1. Disks are so old there was a problem and the program could not be installed.

 

2. Program installed as the DOS version.

 

3. Program installed as the Windows version.

 

They are no other outcomes.

Contributor
easymike299
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-31-2009
Message 17 of 18 (554 Views)

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-10-2012 07:28 AM in reply to: RyoHazuki89

The error "FATAL ERROR: !PMSDOSA 3" seems to be associated with the PHARLAP.386 file. If you don't have the C3 patch installed it could be the problem.

 

Gene

*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 21,798
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 18 of 18 (546 Views)

Re: Any old Autocad R12 Machine for sale?

05-10-2012 09:32 AM in reply to: easymike299

>>>...My dad has a PhD in architecture but can't learn Autocad R14...<<<

One word: INTERN. Check your local trade / community college school teaching AutoCAD for candidates.

 

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube