AutoCAD R12/R13/R14 Archive

Reply
*Tahvanainen, Marko
Message 1 of 7 (45 Views)

Acad 14.01 and Win2k

45 Views, 6 Replies
06-20-2001 06:01 AM
I am running Acad 14.01 eight hours a day on a networked system running Win
2000 Pro. At random times (about twice a week), the program will "stop
responding". I try to end the process in the task list but Win tells me
"The program is cannot be ended because it is being debugged. Please stop
the debugger first" or something like this. The system then stops
completely. I literally must then pull the plug from the wall to reboot. I
thought win 2k was supposed to make things more stable. Our IT guys are not
Cad familiar. Has any one seen this error before?

Thanks,
Marko Tahvanainen
*Upton, Brent
Message 2 of 7 (45 Views)

Re: Acad 14.01 and Win2k

06-20-2001 06:02 AM in reply to: *Tahvanainen, Marko
It's microsoft windows, get used to it. :-)

Kidding..well no I'm not, but yeah, I saw this before...and our tech guy
just walked away scratching his head. I think it's just windows being
windows.

All hail linux!

Brent U
Marko Tahvanainen wrote in message
news:35D0312490B43AE8C9DDD14EE5AC627B@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> I am running Acad 14.01 eight hours a day on a networked system running
Win
> 2000 Pro. At random times (about twice a week), the program will "stop
> responding". I try to end the process in the task list but Win tells me
> "The program is cannot be ended because it is being debugged. Please stop
> the debugger first" or something like this. The system then stops
> completely. I literally must then pull the plug from the wall to reboot.
I
> thought win 2k was supposed to make things more stable. Our IT guys are
not
> Cad familiar. Has any one seen this error before?
>
> Thanks,
> Marko Tahvanainen
>
>
*Mims, Jim
Message 3 of 7 (45 Views)

Re:

06-21-2001 03:50 AM in reply to: *Tahvanainen, Marko
I don't have an answer for you but newer computers will shut down if you
push in the power switch for more than 5 seconds.

- Jim

"Brent Upton" wrote in message
news:84AE7D500A14D26C889A84060201DBA5@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> It's microsoft windows, get used to it. :-)
>
> Kidding..well no I'm not, but yeah, I saw this before...and our tech guy
> just walked away scratching his head. I think it's just windows being
> windows.
>
> All hail linux!
>
> Brent U
> Marko Tahvanainen wrote in message
> news:35D0312490B43AE8C9DDD14EE5AC627B@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> > I am running Acad 14.01 eight hours a day on a networked system running
> Win
> > 2000 Pro. At random times (about twice a week), the program will "stop
> > responding". I try to end the process in the task list but Win tells me
> > "The program is cannot be ended because it is being debugged. Please
stop
> > the debugger first" or something like this. The system then stops
> > completely. I literally must then pull the plug from the wall to
reboot.
> I
> > thought win 2k was supposed to make things more stable. Our IT guys are
> not
> > Cad familiar. Has any one seen this error before?
> >
> > Thanks,
> > Marko Tahvanainen
> >
> >
>
>
New Member
NORMH
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-22-2001
Message 4 of 7 (45 Views)

Re: Acad 14.01 and Win2k

06-22-2001 01:51 AM in reply to: *Tahvanainen, Marko
Yes I am having the same problem, with the computer locking up. I believe it may be with the network, because I can run all day long on my machine, but as soon as I use the network it locks up. Have you heard of any fixes yet?

Thanks
Norman Hoehn
mtb
New Member
mtb
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-26-2001
Message 5 of 7 (45 Views)

Re: Acad 14.01 and Win2k

06-26-2001 02:18 AM in reply to: *Tahvanainen, Marko
give me more detail about your network (nt,novell....versionxxx).
*bullseye301
Message 6 of 7 (45 Views)

Re:

06-27-2001 06:02 AM in reply to: *Tahvanainen, Marko
Hi, we have the same problem. Using 14.01, win2K with SP2 and running Novell
4.8****
There was a known problem with Autodesk products freezing win2k systems
using Novell 4.7. The advice was update to a newer version of Novell. We
still have the same problem on 4.8.
We don't have the problem on machines running under NT4.
Any help appreciated, because our IT guys also don't have a clue!
Thanks
"mtb" wrote in message
news:f05cfd6.3@WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
give me more detail about your network (nt,novell....versionxxx).
Member
lpgland
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-29-2002
Message 7 of 7 (45 Views)

Re:

06-27-2001 05:02 PM in reply to: *Tahvanainen, Marko
I know it does not help but we encounter the same problem we are on a Novel 4.8 network running NT4 with service pack 6 and win 2000 machines all with ACad 14.01. We have this problem on the Win 2000 machines not the NT4 machines our IT people do not have any ideas. Does any one know hoe to stop the debugger? the only option I have found is to switch off!!!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with AutoCAD

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube